Rome · Julius · Augustus · Germanicus · Claudius · Britannicus · Vespasian · Titus · Nerva · Divine House · Trajan · Hadrian · Antinoüs · Antoninus · Verus · Marcus · Pertinax · Postumus · Probus · Julian

Possible bust of the divine Pertinax
Digital retouching of a possible depiction of the divine Pertinax.
(Modification of a photograph by Codrin.B, licensed CC BY-SA)

The Divine Pertinax

Principate: January–March 193

Vanquisher of a revolt in Great Britain, Pertinax undertook to reform the evils the State had been subject to under his predecessor, the megalomaniacal Commodus. A Ligurian by origin, Pertinax could not boast an aristocratic lineage. Nevertheless, he triumphed thanks to the wisdom, force of character, and freedom of thought that his principate foretold. Rather remarkably, Pertinax enjoyed the favour of both the Senate and the common people, and indeed of practically everyone who had not directly benefited from the tyranny of Commodus—such as the Pretorian Guard. It was these last who assassinated him, less than three months after his succession. The people remained loyal to his memory while the Senate was forced to endorse the adventurer who bought the loyalty of the Pretorians after his death.

According to the anonymous Epitome of the Cæsars, the people lamented his passing, crying out:

Pertinace imperante securi uiximus, neminem timuimus, patri pio, patri senatus, patri omnium bonorum
“While Pertinax reigned we lived secure and feared no one—that pious father, father of the Senate, father of all good people!”Epitome de Caesaribus 18; my translation.

Septimius Severus deserves credit for avenging Pertinax’ death, even though this was only the act of a new prince seeking popularity. The reign of Pertinax thus appears as a too brief breathing-space between the excesses of Comodus and the despotism of the Severans.Zosimus and Ammianus Marcellinus can tell us a little about the time of Pertinax, and other mentions are to be found in the three histories derived from the Kaisergeschichte, but our sources are largely unsatisfactory.

Birthday: 1 August

Postumus (antoninianus)
The divine Postumus.
(Modification of a photograph by Maximus Rex, Creative Commons licence)

The Divine Postumus

Principate: 260–269

This excellent prince would have warranted our devotion even if he were not, so to say, one of our own. Faced with the implosion of the central power and the constant threat of barbarian invasions, the divine Postumus was able to rebuild an empire in Gaul, for Gaul. It had its own capital (initially Cologne), its imperial mint (in Trier), its own Senate and its own army. Postumus adopted the titles and honours of emperorship, but forebore from sowing civil war by advancing on Italy. His forces defeated their Germanic enemies and reestablished the peace and well-being of Gaul (no less than those of Great Britain and Hispania, where Postumus’ authority was also acknowledged). Postumus departed this life defending the city of Mainz (the fief of a defeated usurper) from being sacked by his own troops. The good of his country was the constant preoccupation of this emperor, forgotten by history for not forcing the Senate at Rome to recognize him.The full-length monograph by J. F. Drinkwater (1987), The Gallic Empire, brings together the disparate sources for the Gallic Empire, including numismatics.

Postumus is said to have been born at Deusone, which is perhaps to be identified with Diessen in today’s North Brabant (in the Netherlands), and thus in the country of the Nervii.Regionaal Archief Tillburg, “Romeinen in Deusone”. He was probably a protégé of Hercules, whom he honoured on several coin series. The Labours of Hercules series is highly rated by numismatists; other series make mention of “Hercules Magusanus” and “Hercules Deusoniensis” under Gaulish epithets.J. F. Drinkwater (1987), The Gallic Empire, pp. 162–163.

Birthday: unknown

Feast day: might be celebrated on 10 December, the date when tribunates began; we know that Postumus celebrated the fifth year of his tribunician power in 265–266 with great éclat.J. F. Drinkwater (1987), The Gallic Empire, pp. 93–95.

Le divin Probus
The divine Probus.
(Modification of a photograph by Marie-Lan Nguyen in the public domain)

The Divine Probus

Principate: 276–282

Within the succession of ill-starred princes and usurpers of the Crisis of the Third Century, the divine Probus holds an honourable place. To be sure, he was not the only one to deserve to be remembered by posterity (the three Gordians, Decius and Tacitus were all men of virtue); but he is of particular interest to us for his services to Gaul. Like the divine Tacitus, Probus continued the work of reunification begun by Aurelian, but without the excessive severity that is to be reproached in the latter. Having secured his accession, Probus moved against the Franks and Alamanni who had overrun Gaul following the death of Postumus, as well as the Burgundians and Vandals who were active along the Danube frontier. Probus defeated each of these groups of barbarians (to whom he was magnanimous in victory), and took steps to reinforce the frontier. He defeated the usurpers Proculus and Bonosus, who were threatening the peace in Gaul, and also settled barbarians within areas of Gaul suffering from labour shortages. He was assassinated by his own troops when word reached them of Carus’ assumption of the purple.Zosimus’ account has useful information for the period of the divine Probus.

Birthday: 19 August (approximately)

Le divin Julien
The divine Julian.
(Modification of a photograph by Heinz-Joachim Krenzer in the public domain)

The Divine Julian

Principate: 360–363 (Cæsar in the West: 355–360)

Despite the relative shortness of his reign, the divine Julian must rank among the most remarkable emperors of Roman history. As a military conqueror, as a civil reformer, as a philosopher, he would have merited the highest of praise even if he had not been so bold as to oppose the pretension of the Christian church, which then dominated the imperial household and the State. In an age when luxury and court ceremonial had reached the highest extremes of ‘oriental’ sensuality, Julian was modest; he ate and drank little; he preferred the simplicity of the barracks to the sumptuousness of the palace. (One of his favourite towns was the rustic, but well-sited Lutetia, which would one day grow into the great metropolis of Paris.) His plans to reorganize polytheistic religion (which he referred to as ἑλληνισμός or ‘Hellenism’) could not bear fruit thanks to his too early demise. He considered himself the reincarnation of the divine Alexander the Great. In the midst of a victorious campaign in Persia, he died a martyr’s death, struck down probably by the spear of one of his own soldiers (a Christian, if the rumour is to be believed).Ammianus Marcellinus devotes a good part of (what remains of his) History to Julian’s career; Zosimus’ account is also detailed. Furthermore, several works by the divine prince himself survive (the Misopogon, Orations on the Mother of the Gods and the Sun God, Discourses concerning the Cynics, letters, etc.) as well as others by contemporaries such as the philosopher Libanius and the Christian partisans Gregory Nazianzen and Cyril of Alexandria (the latter preserves important fragments the emperor’s polemic Contra Galileos).

Feast day: 6 November (the beginning of his reign as Cæsar; he was born either in November/December or in May/June)

Summary List

The Senate authorized the postumous cult of a number of members of the imperial house, whose names thenceforth were prefixed with the title díuus or díua (‘the divine’, respectively masculine and feminine), starting with the divine Julius (Julius Cæsar). Those honoured on Latin inscriptions are listed below:

  • Augustus (Cæsar Augustus)
  • Augusta (Livia)
  • Drusilla (daughter of Germanicus, sister of the emperor Gaius)
  • Claudius
  • Poppea Augusta (wife of Nero)
  • Claudia (infant daughter of Nero)
  • Domitilla (daughter of Vespasian)
  • Vespasian
  • Titus
  • Julia (daughter of Titus)
  • Nerva
  • Trajan the Father (biological father of the emperor Trajan)
  • Plotina (Pompeia Plotina, wife of Trajan)
  • Marciana Augusta (sister of Trajan)
  • Trajan
  • Matidia (Salonina Matidia, niece of Trajan and mother-in-law of Hadrian)
  • Sabina (wife of Hadrian)
  • Hadrian
  • Faustina (wife of Antoninus Pius)
  • Antoninus (Antoninus Pius)
  • Faustina the Younger (wife of Marcus Aurelius, daughter of Antoninus Pius and Faustina)
  • Verus (Lucius Verus)
  • Marcus Antoninus, Marcus or Marcus Aurelius (Marcus Aurelius)
  • Commodus
  • Pertinax
  • Julia Domna (wife of Septimius Severus)
  • Severus (Septimius Severus)
  • Paulina (wife of Maximinus Thrax)
  • Gordian
  • Decius
  • Valerian
  • Gallienus
  • Aurelian
  • Probus
  • Carus
  • Maximian
  • Galerius Maximian
  • Flavius Valerius Constantius
  • Constantine Maximus Victor (Constantine the Great)
  • Constantius
  • Julian
  • Jovian
  • Valentinian

Antinoüs, the lover of Hadrian, was certainly worshipped as a god though he was not divinized by the Senate. Antinoüs was notably identified with Osiris, though he is peculiarly susceptible to syncretism of many kinds.


In addition to the sources cited below, I have made use of several secondary sources, particularly Richard D. Weigel’s site De Imperatoribus Romanis and the English and French editions of Wikipedia.

Français (Victor Hugo)
En français svp !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License

ROMAE et AVGVSTO :
à ROME et AUGUSTE

Rome · Jules · Auguste · Germanicus · Claude · Britannicus · Vespasien · Titus · Nerva · Maison divine · Trajan · Hadrien · Antinoüs · Antonin · Vérus · Marc · Pertinax · Postume · Probus · Julien


Buste possible du divin Pertinax
Restitution virtuelle d’une représentation possible du divin Pertinax.
(Modification d’une photographie de Codrin.B, licence CC BY-SA)

Le divin Pertinax

Principat : janvier à mars 193

Vainqueur d’une révolte en Grande-Bretagne, Pertinax a tenté de réformer les maux auxquels l’État était sujet sous son prédécesseur, le mégalomane Commode. Un Ligure d’origine, Pertinax ne pouvait se vanter d’une lignée noble. Pourtant, il s’impose par sa sagesse, la force de son caractère, et la liberté de pensée que son principat signale. Chose remarquable, Pertinax jouit de la faveur à la fois du Sénat et du peuple, en fait de presque tout le monde sauf ceux qui, comme la Garde prétorienne, avait profité de la tyrannie de Commode. Ce sont ceux-ci qui l’assassinent, moins de trois mois après sa succession. Le peuple reste fidèle à sa mémoire tandis que le Sénat est contraint à approuver l’aventurier qui vient d’acheter la loyauté des prétoriens.

Selon l’anonyme Abrégé des Césars, le peuple a célébré sa mémoire en s’écriant :

Pertinace imperante securi uiximus, neminem timuimus, patri pio, patri senatus, patri omnium bonorum
« Sous l’empire de Pertinax nous avons vécu dans la sécurité ; nous n’avons craint personne : gloire au père le plus pieux, au père du sénat, au père de tous les bons citoyens ! »Epitome de Caesaribus 18, traduit par N. A. Dubois, 1848.

Septime Sévère aura le mérite de venger la mort de Pertinax, mais ce sera là l’acte d’un nouveau prince à la recherche de la popularité. Le trop bref règne de Pertinax apparaît donc comme une heureuse lacune entre les excès de Commode et le despotisme des Sévériens.Zosime et Ammien Marcellin peuvent nous renseigner un peu sur la période de Pertinax, d’autres mentions se trouvent dans les trois récits issus de la Kaisergeschichte, mais nos sources sont largement insatisfaisantes.

Date de naissance : 1er août


Postume (antoninianus)
Le divin Postume.
(Modification d’une photographie de Maximus Rex, licence Creative Commons)

Le divin Postume

Principat : 260 à 269

On aurait voulu honorer ce prince excellent même s’il n’était pas, pour ainsi dire, un des nôtres. Face à la l’implosion du pouvoir central et la menace constante des invasions barbares, le divin Postume a su réédifier un empire en Gaule, pour la Gaule. Il avait sa capitale (d’abord Cologne), son hôtel de monnaies (à Trèves), son Sénat, son armée. Postume a adopté les titres et les honneurs du pourpre, sans vouloir semer la guerre civile en s’avançant vers Italie. Ses forces ont défait leurs ennemis germaniques et ont rétabli la paix et le salut des Gaules (non moins que ceux de la Grande-Bretagne et de l’Espagne, où l’on avoue également l’autorité de Postume). Postume laisse la vie en tâchant de préserver la ville de Mayence (fief d’un usurpateur défait) du sac par ses propres troupes. Le bien-être de son pays avait été la préoccupation constante de cet empereur, oublié de l’histoire pour ne pas avoir contraint le Sénat à Rome de le reconnaître.Le monographe de J. F. Drinkwater (1987), The Gallic Empire, résume bien les évidences disparates pour l’Empire des Gaules, y compris la numismatique.

Postume serait né à Deusone, peut-être à identifier à Diessen dans l’actuel Brabant-Septentrional (Pays-Bas), donc au pays des Nerviens.Regionaal Archief Tillburg, “Romeinen in Deusone”.

Date de naissance : inconnue

Date de fête : on peut le fêter le 10 décembre, date où commence le tribunat, car on sait que Postume a célébré le quinquennat de son pouvoir tribunal en 265–266 avec beaucoup d’éclat.J. F. Drinkwater (1987), The Gallic Empire, pp. 93–95.


Le divin Probus
Le divin Probus.
(Modification d’une photographie de Marie-Lan Nguyen en domaine public)

Le divin Probus

Principat : 276 à 282

Parmi la succession de princes sinistrés et d’usurpateurs de la crise du IIIe siècle, le divin Probus occupe une place honorable. Certes, il n’est pas le seul à mériter la mémoire de la postérité (les trois Gordiens, Dèce et Tacite étaient tous des hommes de vertu) ; mais il nous intéresse particulièrement pour ses services à la Gaule. Comme le divin Tacite, Probus a continué l’œuvre réunificatrice d’Aurélien, mais sans la sévérité excessive que l’on reproche à ce dernier. Après avoir sécurisé son accession, Probus avance contre les Francs et les Alamans qui exécutaient des razzias à travers la Gaule à la suite de la mort de Postume. Il s’attaque aussi aux Burgondes et aux Vandales, actifs sur la limes danubienne. Probus défait chacun de ces groupes (auxquels il se révèle un vainqueur magnanime) et prend des mesures pour renforcer la frontière. Il défait aussi les usurpateurs Proculus et Bonosus, qui menaçaient la paix en Gaule, et rectifie une manque de main-d’œuvre en Gaule en y établissant des bandes de laboureurs barbares. Probus est assassiné par ses propres troupes lors de l’usurpation de Carus.Pour l’epoque du divin Probus, le récit de Zosime contient des détails utiles.

Date de naissance : 19 août environ


Le divin Julien
Le divin Julien.
(Modification d’une photographie de Heinz-Joachim Krenzer en domaine public)

Le divin Julien

Principat : 360 à 363 (césar occidental : 355 à 360)

Malgré la brièveté de son règne, le divin Julien figure parmi les empereurs les plus remarquables de l’histoire romaine. Conquérant militaire, réformateur civil, philosophe, il aurait mérité les plus hautes louanges même s’il n’avait pas la hardiesse de s’opposer aux prétentions de l’Église chrétienne, qui dominait alors la maison impériale et l’État. Dans une âge où le luxe et la cérémonie de la cour avait atteint les plus hauts extrêmes de volupté à l’orientale, Julien était modeste ; il buvait et mangeait peu ; il préférait la simplicité de la caserne à la somptuosité du palais. Une des villes qu’il aimait mieux est une bourgade rustaude, mais bien située, du nom de... Lutèce. Ses projets de réorganiser la religion polythéiste (qualifiée de son vocable de ἑλληνισμός ou « hellénisme ») ne pouvaient fructifier grâce à son décès trop prématuré. Il se considérait comme la réincarnation du divin Alexandre le Grand. Au milieu d’une campagne victorieuse en Perse, il est mort en martyre, frappé probablement par la lance d’un de ses propres soldats (un Chrétien, à en croire la rumeur).Ammien Marcellin consacre une bonne partie de (ce qui reste de) son Histoire à la carrière de Julien ; le récit de Zosime est détaillé aussi. En outre, plusieurs œuvres du divin prince survivent (le Misopogon, des Orations sur la Mère des dieux et le Dieu Soleil, des Discours au sujet des Cyniques, des lettres etc.) ainsi que des écrits contemporains comme le philosophe Libanius et les partisans chrétiens Grégoire de Nazianze et Cyrille d’Alexandrie (ce dernier conserve d’importants fragments de son œuvre Contra Galileos).

Date de fête : 6 novembre (début de son règne comme césar ; il serait né soit en novembre/décembre soit en mai/juin)



Liste sommaire

Le Sénat a autorisé le culte posthume de bon nombre de personnes de la maison impériale, dont le nom reçoit dorénavant le préfixe de díuus ou díua (le divin, la divine), en commençant par le divin Jules (Jules César). Ceux qui suivent sont honorés sur des inscriptions latines :

  • Auguste (César Auguste)
  • Augusta (Livie)
  • Drusille (fille de Germanicus, sœur de l’empereur Gaïus)
  • Claude
  • Poppée Auguste (femme de Néron)
  • Claudia (enfant défunte de Néron)
  • Domitille (fille de Vespasien)
  • Vespasien
  • Titus
  • Julie (fille de Titus)
  • Nerva
  • Trajan père (père biologique de l’empereur Trajan)
  • Plotine (Pompeia Plotina, femme de Trajan)
  • Marciane Auguste (sœur de Trajan)
  • Trajan
  • Matidie (Salonina Matidia, nièce de Trajan, belle-mère d’Hadrien)
  • Sabine (femme d’Hadrien)
  • Hadrien
  • Faustine (femme d’Antonin le Pieux)
  • Antonin (Antonin le Pieux)
  • Faustine la jeune (femme de Marc-Aurèle, fille d’Antonin le Pieux et de Faustine)
  • Vérus (Lucius Vérus)
  • Marc Antonin, Marc ou Marc Aurèle (Marc-Aurèle)
  • Commode
  • Pertinax
  • Julie Domna (femme de Septime-Sévère)
  • Sévère (Septime-Sévère)
  • Pauline (femme de Maximin le Thrace)
  • Gordien
  • Dèce
  • Valérien
  • Gallien
  • Aurélien
  • Probus
  • Carus
  • Maximien
  • Galère Maximien
  • Flavius Valère Constance
  • Constantin Maxime Victor (Constantin le Grand)
  • Constance
  • Julien
  • Jovien
  • Valentinien

Antinoüs, amant d’Hadrien, recevait bien un culte sans avoir été divinisé par le Sénat. On identifie Antinoüs notamment à Osiris, mais le nouveau dieu est particulièrement susceptible à toutes sortes de syncrétisme.


Notes

En sus des sources citées ci-dessous, j’ai consulté plusieurs sources secondaires, dont notamment le site De Imperatoribus Romanis de Richard D. Weigel et les éditions anglaise et française de Wikipédia.

English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
IN · H · D · D · DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · POST · R · C · AN · MMDCCLXVII · V · S · L · M