Gaulish reconstructionists more resistant to Gallo-Roman syncretism will want to look into the possibility of reconstructing a Gaulish tradition of essentially pre-Roman, Celtic character (on the understanding that Celticness does not rule out significant links with the Hellenized and Etruscan worlds). One casualty of this approach is, in all likelihood, being able to follow the tradition of a specific nation or ‘tribe’ (unless that be the Salluvii of Provence). The resulting pan-Gaulish religious synthesis must therefore necessarily be somewhat artificial.

Chaudron de Gundestrup
An inside plaque of the Gundestrup Cauldron
(modification of a photograph by Malene Thyssen, Creative Commons licence)

Among the oldest testimonies to Celtic religion, one might mention the rock carvings of the Val Camonica, one of which represents the antlered god who would later be called Cernunnos in Roman Paris. Next comes the Gundestrup Cauldon: that crucial, paradoxical and mysterious artifact of ancient Celtic religion, probably commissioned of Thracian artisans by Balkan Celts, but discovered in Denmark. Other pre-Roman representations whose religious nature is more or less certain include crude sculptures in the south of France and in the Rhineland (such as the Mars images of the lower Rhône or the Holzerlingen stone) as well as some rare works in wood. Such items give us an idea of the symbolism of Celtic religion (the antlered god, the ram-headed serpent, the god holding a wheel, and so on).[1]

There is also the archaeological evidence of Belgic sanctuaries such as those at Ribemont-sur-Ancre or Gournay-sur-Aronde, as well as semi-Hellenized temples such as at Glanum (Saint-Rémy-de-Provence) or Entremont (near Aix-en-Provence). These prove for one thing that the Celts, both north and south, clearly demarcated sacred spaces, whether by a ditch or by a wall; that sanctuaries were often at a distance from populated places; that people deposited coins, luxury items and the like at such sanctuaries, without anyone else interfering with them (this confirms a comment of Posidonius on the subject); that human skulls regularly featured in such places’ décor; and that the bodies of certain sacrificial animals were left there to rot where they lay. What we have here is a heritage that is rather difficult to square with a society like our own, which is largely urbanized and concerned with human rights. It would not be hard to incorporate certain elements into one’s private shrine (but up till now no direct attestation of pre-Roman domestic worship has, I believe, been uncovered).[2]

Statère, tête d’Apollon
A highly evolved version of a head of Apollo on a stater of the Baiocasses (around Bayeux in Normandy). Above the head is a wild-boar symbol, such as also appeared on Gaulish war crests
(modification of a photograph © Marie-Lan Nguyen, Creative Commons licence)

The bulk of the Greek and Latin texts dealing with druids (and sometimes with their colleagues, the vates and bards) comes from the pre-Roman period. At that time, they constituted a privileged class that acted as astronomers, philosophers, religious counsellors, political arbiters and experts in metaphysics. (To be sure, the repeated efforts of emperors to suppress the druidic school prove that, in some form or another, it survived the conquest. However, those that we find in Tacitus, for example, are no longer anything more than prophesying magicians: an interesting example of a subaltern religious phenomenon, but nothing extraordinary in the Roman world. The post-conquest ‘druids’ have lost their unique quality as noble philosophers, expert in astronomy and other branches of knowledge—in short, everything that made them druids.) If it is even possible today to attain the rank of druid, candidates must at any rate devote long studies to ancient knowledge, notably relating to astronomy; reflect deeply on the nature of matter and the place of humankind in the universe; and, if possible, teach such knowledge to others.[3]

Celtic coins are by no means silent on religious matters. They exemplify the Gaulish production of Hellenistic images of this god or that, most notably Apollo, Jupiter and Hercules. They also bear other religious symbols, such as solar wheels.

Julio-Claudian material

Tarvos Trigaranus
Tarvos Trigaranus, the bull with three cranes, from the Column of the Parisian Boatmen
(modification of a photograph by Clio20, Creative Commons licence)

Finally, religious material from the Julio-Claudian era might also be included in a Celtic reconstructionism, for that was a time when most Gauls still preserved their Celtic culture largely intact under Roman or Romanized masters. A key document from this period is the Column of the Parisian Boatmen, which attests to an early syncretism characterized by rather jarring juxtapositions of Roman and Gaulish elements. Celtic enthusiasts might wish to pay most of their attention to the ‘Celtic’ panels of the Column; but it should be remembered that the monument as a whole was dedicated to Tiberius Augustus and to Jupiter Optimus Maximus, the earthly and heavenly protectors of Rome. Among documents from this period, we can add the stone dedicated to Mercury at Trier depicting Esus, along with most depictions of the antlered god, the god with a hammer, the three-headed god, and Jupiter holding a wheel. The great relief from Rheims representing the antlered god in the company of Mercury and Apollo is fairly typical of this first wave of syncretism. (While distinctively Gaulish, columns featuring an equestrian Jupiter are generally of a later date.) The Coligny calendar probably dates from the same period.

The bulk of surviving Gaulish texts were also likely to have been composed under the Roman Empire. The rest were written earlier, particularly those written in the Greek or even Etruscan alphabets; some go back many centuries before the Common Era. Overall, Gaulish texts are not very numerous, most are short, and their interpretation is sometimes very difficult. Nevertheless, they definitively attest the Celtic names of many gods and goddesses:[4]

What we have here are the outlines of a ‘pantheon’ (admittedly incomplete, drawn from disparate sources, and comprised in large part of little-known gods), some precedents to adapt in terms of ritual (and major adaptations they do require), hints about where to begin one’s scholarly or philosophical studies, and a certain visual æsthetic.


What, then, does this purely ‘Celtic’ picture need to leave out? First off, divine couples such as Mercury and Rosmerta, Apollo Grannus and Ðirona, Mars and Litavis, Mars Loucetius and Nemetona, Lenus Mars and Ancamna, Apollo Borvo and Damona ... all of whom are wholly absent from Gaulish texts. Next, the rich symbolism of the Jupiter–giant columns, as previously mentioned. Plus everything we know about the mythology and philosophy that the Gauls would have received from the Mediterranean world (for example foundation myths linking Gaulish towns to Hercules, the Platonism that was in vogue in Gaul, etc.). Temples of the Gallo-Roman type, namely with a regular floorplan surrounded by a porch. The federal celebration of the Gaulish provinces on the 1st of August at Condate in Lyon, dedicated to Rome and Augustus. An enormous number of gods and goddesses with Celtic names who are commemorated only in Latin (often by high-ranking citizens). The Gaulish taste for schematized decorative motifs, such as the signs of the Zodiac, the days of the week (which are also the seven planets, and therefore gods), the four seasons, the nine Muses. The worship of genii. To be sure, a religious practice founded on the Gallo-Roman period no longer has a place for druids properly speaking; but this time has other philosophers whose teachings are much better known....

My conclusion is that there is much of great value to lost in dropping the second element of the Gallo-Roman compound. By embracing the Roman inheritance, we vastly increase the base of information for our religious reconstruction. At the same time, this lets us draw nearer to the authentic practices of our forebears, who were not picky about the ethnic origin of this god or that practice. Nevertheless, I do know that emphasizing the strictly Celtic part of our patrimony is a cherished desire for many; I have no wish to rule out the possibility altogether.


Français (Victor Hugo)
En français svp !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License

UN RECONSTRUCTIONISME CELTIQUE

Pour les reconstructionistes gaulois plutôt résistants au syncrétisme gallo-romain, la possibilité existe de reconstruire une tradition gauloise de caractère largement celtique (la celticité n’excluant pas cependant des liens assez intensifs avec les mondes hellénisé et étrusque). Le prix qu’il faut probablement payer est de renoncer à suivre la tradition d’une nation spécifique (du moins qu’elle ne soit les Salyens de Provence). La synthèse religieuse pan-gauloise qui en ressort sera donc nécessairement un peu artificielle.

Chaudron de Gundestrup
Une face intérieure du chaudron de Gundestrup
(modification d’une photographie de Malene Thyssen, licence Creative Commons)

Parmi les témoignages les plus anciens de la religion celtique, on peut noter les gravures du Val Camonica dont l’une représente le dieu aux bois de cerf qu’on nommera Cernunnos à Lutèce. Suit le chaudron de Gundestrup : le document capital, paradoxal et mystérieux de la religion celtique ancienne. D’autres représentations pré-romaines dont le caractère religieux est plus ou moins certain incluent des sculptures grossières au Midi et en Rhénanie (les Mars du bas-Rhône, la pierre à Holzerlingen...) et de rares figures en bois. Tels documents nous donnent une idée du symbolisme de la religion celtique (dieu aux bois de cerf, serpent à tête de bélier, dieu à la roue, etc.).[1]

On a aussi l’évidence des sanctuaires belges comme ceux à Ribemont-sur-Ancre ou Gournay-sur-Aronde, ou bien des temples quasi hellénisés comme à Glanum (Saint-Rémy-de-Provence) ou à Entremont (près d’Aix-en-Provence). Ils prouvent notamment que les Celtes, tant au sud qu’au nord, démarquaient clairement les espaces sacrées, soit par une fosse soit par un mur ; que les sanctuaires étaient souvent éloignés des zones peuplées ; qu’on y déposait des monnaies, des objets de luxe etc. sans que personne les y perturbe (une confirmation du remarque de Posidonius à ce propos) ; que les crânes humains décoraient régulièrement des endroits de ce genre ; et qu’on disposait des corps de certains animaux sacrifiés en les laissant putréfier sur place. Voilà un héritage parfois difficile à adapter à une société comme la nôtre, majoritairement urbanisée et soucieuse des droits de l’homme... Pas impossible d’incorporer certains éléments à son sanctuaire privé (mais jusqu’à présent on a pas, je crois, trouvé d’attestation directe d’un culte domestique pré-romain...).[2]

Statère, tête d’Apollon
Une version très évoluée de la tête d’Apollon sur un statère des Bajocasses (Bayeux). La tête est surmontée d’une devise de sanglier, comme apparaît sur des casques gaulois
(modification d’une photographie © Marie-Lan Nguyen, licence Creative Commons)

L’essentiel des textes grecs et latins traitant des druides (et parfois de leurs alliés, les vates et les bardes) font affaire à la période pré-romaine. Ils constituent alors une caste privilégiée exerçant les fonctions d’astronomes, de philosophes, de conseillers religieux, d’arbitres politiques et d’experts en métaphysique. (Certes, les efforts répétés de la part des empereurs de supprimer le collège druidique prouvent qu’il a en quelque sorte survécu à la conquête. Mais ceux qu’on rencontre chez Tacite, par exemple, ne sont plus que des sorciers prophétisant. Une importante attestation d’un phénomène religieux subalterne, mais rien d’étonnant par rapport à d’autres pays dans le monde romain. Les « druides » de l’après-Conquête ont perdu leur qualité spéciale de nobles philosophes experts dans l’astronomie et les autres sciences — en un mot tout ce qui les faisaient druides.) S’il est possible d’atteindre aujourd’hui le rang de druide, le candidat doit certainement faire de très longues études sur les connaissances antiques, et notamment en matière astronomique ; réfléchir profondément sur la nature des choses et de la place d’homme dans l’univers ; et, de préférence, enseigner ce qu’il a appris aux autres candidats éventuels et à la société plus large.[3]

Les monnaies de la période de l’indépendance ne sont pas muettes sur des questions religieuses. Elles attestent la fabrication gauloise des images hellénistiques de tel ou tel dieu, et notamment d’Apollon, de Jupiter et d’Hercule. Elles portent également d’autres symboles religieux comme des roues solaires.

Tarvos Trigaranus
Tarvos Trigaranus, le taureau à trois grues, du Pilier des nautes parisiens
(modification d’une photographie de Clio20, licence Creative Commons)

Matériaux julio-claudiens

En fin de compte, on pourrait incorporer des matériaux de l’époque julio-claudienne, où la plupart des Gaulois continuaient à vivre pour l’essentiel une réalité celtique sous des maîtres romains ou romanisés. Un document capital de cette période est le Pilier des nautes parisiens, qui atteste un syncrétisme précoce caractérisé par des juxtapositions un peu bizarre d’éléments indigènes et romains. Les celtisants peuvent donc faire attention aux panneaux « celtiques » du Pilier ; mais il ne faut pas oublier que le monument entier était dédié à Tibère Auguste et à Jupiter Optimus Maximus, protecteurs terrestre et céleste de Rome... Associons à ce genre de document ancien, la pierre dédiée à Mercure à Trèves qui représente Esus aussi bien que des figurations du dieu aux bois de cerf, du dieu au maillet, du dieu tricéphale et de Jupiter à la roue. Le relief de Reims qui illustre le dieu aux bois de cerf accompagné de Mercure et d’Apollon est assez typique de cette première vague de syncrétisme. (Bien que distinctivement gauloises, les colonnes de Jupiter équestre sont généralement plus tardives.) Le calendrier de Coligny daterait probablement de la même période.

Le gros des textes gaulois survivants auraient également été rédigés sous l’Empire romain. Une minorité est écrite plus tôt, surtout ceux écrits en caractères grecs voire étrusques ; ils remontent parfois bien des siècles avant notre ère. Somme toute, les textes gaulois ne sont pas trop nombreux, ils sont majoritairement courts, leur interprétation est parfois très difficile. Cependant, et même s’ils sont écrits sous l’Empire, ils attestent d’une façon certaine les noms celtiques de bien des dieux et déesses[4] :

Voici, en somme, les jalons d’un « panthéon » (qu’il faut avouer incomplet, tiré de sources disparates et compris en grande partie de dieux un peu mal connus), quelques précédents à adapter en matière rituelle (et telles adaptations ne sont pas mineures), des orientations générales sur des études académiques ou philosophiques à suivre, et une certaine esthétique visuelle.

Évaluation

Qu’est-ce qu’il faut donc omettre de ce tableau purement « celtique » ? D’abord, les couples divins comme Mercure et Rosmerta, Apollon Grannus et Ðirona, Mars et Litavis, Mars Loucetius et Nemetona, Lénus Mars et Ancamna, Apollon Borvon et Damona... tous absents des textes en gaulois. Les colonnes de Jupiter à l’anguipède, comme on a noté ci-dessus. Tout ce qu’on sait de la mythologie et de la philosophie que les Gaulois auraient reçues du monde méditerranée (par exemple des mythes de fondation liant des villes gauloises à Hercule, le platonisme qui connaissait une certaine vogue en Gaule, etc.). Les temples de type gallo-romain, soit d’un plan régulier et entourés d’une galerie. La fête fédérale des Gaules le 1er août à Condate, dédiée à Rome et à Auguste. Un nombre énorme de dieux et de déesses aux noms celtiques qui ne sont honorés qu’en latin (souvent par des citoyens romains de haut rang). Un autre élément de l’esthétique gaulois, à savoir le goût pour des décorations schématisées comme les signes de la zodiaque, les jours de la semaine (qui sont aussi les sept planètes et donc des dieux), les quatre saisons, les neuf Muses. Le culte des génies. Bien entendu, une pratique religieuse fondée sur la période gallo-romaine n’a plus vraiment de place pour les druides proprement dit. Mais on a à cette époque d’autres philosophes, ceux dont les doctrines sont beaucoup mieux connues...

Ma conclusion est qu’on perd beaucoup en laissant tomber le dernier élément de « gallo-romain ». Accepter l’héritage romain, c’est élargir énormément la base de données pour notre reconstruction religieuse. En même temps, ça nous permet de rapprocher les pratiques authentiques de nos devanciers. Néanmoins, je sais bien que privilégier l’héritage strictement celtique, c’est un désir chéri chez beaucoup de personnes ; je n’entend pas les décourager excessivement.


Notes

English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · ANNO · POST · R · C · MMDCCLXV · V · S · L · M