“Spiritual wants and instincts are as various in the human family as are physical appetites, complexions, and features, and a man is only at his best, morally, when he is equipped with the religious garment whose color and shape and size most nicely accommodate themselves to the spiritual complexion, angularities, and stature of the individual who wears it.”
—Mark Twain[1]


The question might be simple, but the answer can hardly be. In fact we’re obliged to answer numerous questions: Why religion? a polytheist religion? those of the ancients? and the ancients of Gaul?

First of all, we want some sort of spiritual system because we’re spiritual animals. Human beings have never ceased to wonder what the meaning is of this curious universe we find ourselves in. The answer ‘Nothing’ doesn’t exactly capture the imagination, and it’s not convincing either. Yet any other answer must necessarily be, in some sense, a spiritual one. Even if you answer ‘Nothing, but...’, you’ll be appealing to some higher values. ‘Nothing, but as long as we’re here, we need to stay true to ourselves.’ ‘Nothing, but in any case we’ve got each other, so we might as well be nice.’ ‘Nothing, but as long as I’m here, I’m not going to let anybody mess with me.’ Where do such values come from? The desire for authenticity, for mutual courtesy, or for personal pride: these all are predicated on some idea of the good life that transcends the immediate material facts of our existence. And there we are, squarely within the domain of philosophy and religion.

Now, those of us who live in the West are perfectly familiar with the conceptions of the transcendental offered by Christianity and Judaism and Islam. More and more of us find their prescriptions too naïve, and their analyses too superficial. God created man solely to submit him to temptation, make him suffer, and finally take his life. What’s worse, God created woman only to serve man—poor wretch! To all the afflictions that man is heir to, she compounds that of being his property. What god can have been the author of such torments? In the character of the god of Abraham we find nothing divine, but rather the perversity of a spoiled, childish soul.

Worse still, there is no recourse, for this delinquent deity is decreed to be the only one to exist—the only one to respond to all the appeals of all people at all times. At the same time that the pious King Henry VI prays to God to lead the English to victory in France, Joan of Arc does the same thing on behalf of the French. What a dilemma for the Almighty! If he listens to the prayers of the first, he must crush the second; but both cry out to him in the same way and with the same piety. The only solution, evidently, is to listen to both of them, and to visit destruction on both of them without mercy.

The monotheistic religions pile up still more follies: the juvenile fantasy of a paradise brimming with virgin brides ... the insane dread of an eternity of damnation ... the pharisaical pleasure of hoping for the damnation of others. Abrahamic religions claim to preach charity while sowing the seeds of homophobia, sexism and holy war. They insist that every soul is guilty of sin, is mired in it, hateful to its Creator—even the soul of a new-born babe against whom no one could have a thing to reproach. And all this in order to make sin into a kind of commodity; mercy can be bought and sold with a few repetitions of the rosary or a journey to Mecca. It’s a way of thinking maintained by constant fear, by the exploitation of people’s insecurities, and by the most absurd of promises.

We must, however, hasten to point out our total condemnation of prejudice or phobia against any religion—including Islam, Christianity, or Judaism—or against their adherents. Ancient pagans sometimes persecuted Christians and Jews, and they were absolutely wrong to do so. Our contemporary experience is founded squarely on a humanistic pluralism that recognizes freedom of thought and worship for everyone.

At the same time, we can’t be afraid to exercise this same freedom in declaring that, in our considered opinion, the Abrahamic religions offer little that can answer to the needs of a modern, thinking person. Agnosticism, on the other hand, is too insipid to offer us anything at all. We’re human; we yearn for rituals and paradigms and symbols that can affirm our lives’ meanings. This is entirely natural, and as long as we stay on guard against any kind of fanaticism, it’s perfectly harmless. Better yet, religion leads us to live better lives—or at least live them with better grace. We get the sense of having some path to follow; religious symbols become the road-markers along that path. Putting trust in our gods, we can fulfill our duties with confidence.

What religion, then, can answer to the needs of modern people? One of the dharmic religions (Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism)? Or some new religion? Well, the former suffer from many of the same faults as the Abrahamic religions, and the latter all too often just don’t have enough depth. Of the so-called ‘organized’ religions, Hinduism might be the most attractive, but it too is based on caste differences and social and sexual exploitation; it preaches, as Buddhism does, that life is hateful, that the senses are evil, and that all we can feel is an illusion. Yet our spirits naturally rebel against all these ideas. We were not endowed with sense just so that we could refuse to use it. Just like the Abrahamic fantasies of paradise, concepts like maya, the four ‘noble’ truths or moksha promise to let people escape from the problems of the real world. But what we really have to do is face them.

My Neopagan fellows should be reproached for their tendency to take refuge in outdated intellectual theories that hark back to 19th century Romanticism more often than to genuine ancient paganism. Too often they cobble together any old mix of psychoanalysis, New Age meditations and paraphernalia, alleged ‘matriarchal’ tradition, and a romanticized ecology that hardly stands scrutiny. Simple peasants are invariably championed rather than city dwellers, tribal societies rather than States, nature rather than culture. All this has a certain appeal ... up till the point when any of its claims are rationally examined. Claiming to offer a principled opposition to all the ills of our society, this ideology instead requires us to turn away from the real world’s complexities and take refuge in a utopian fantasy-land. Little by little, the noble savage must fall away till we recognize that it was a mirage all along. Patriarchy, the State, and industrialization exist; a drum circle is just not enough to confront them.

What we need today is a pluralistic, flexible religion that can feel at home in the real world. At the same time, it’s got to be sophisticated enough to respond convincingly to our deepest questions. And it’s got to be adapted to urban lives in State societies.

The first choice is naturally to revisit the religion that we followed before falling under the influence of Christianity or Islam. Insofar as this is actually based on the complexities and contradictions of a real society, it can be used and adapted for ours. We need to fight the tendency to substitute our own preconceptions for what the ancients actually did and thought. Otherwise, like too many Neopagans, we shall make polytheism into a blank canvas on which to paint the image of fears and preoccupations inculcated by the Abrahamic religions. As it happens, classical religion—emanating basically from Greece, but eventually encompassing most of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East—is exactly that in which our culture grew up. It’s the religion of Homer and Ovid, of Cicero and Pericles, of Aristotle and Marcus Aurelius. The undeniable sophistication of this tradition has given rise to the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, and ultimately today’s modernity. Its myths are at the centre of our art and literature; the architecture of its temples has given rise to those of our public buildings. In rediscovering Antiquity, one rediscovers oneself. And this holds true for religion and philosophy above all.

We must nevertheless recognize the special characteristics of the various parts of the Roman Empire or of the Hellentistic world. The large, originally Celtic region of Gaul has its own roots and its own identity within the so-called civilized world, as do Spain, North Africa, Syria, and so forth. Gaul’s uniqueness stems from the fruitful encounter between classical Græco-Roman civilization and longstanding local traditions (Celtic or other). Some may also attempt—though for technical reasons this will be more difficult—to reconstruct pre-Roman Gaulish religion, before Gaul came under the influence of Latin civilization (at a time when the Celts were, however, closely linked to the Greeks and Etruscans both commercially and intellectually). This is also, of course, a legitimate undertaking.

In both cases, we find ourselves in a polytheistic worldview that can comfortably accommodate all sorts of beliefs and temperaments. Can one not readily believe that the confused mêlée of our world is directed by a variety of divine influences? that a young unemployed woman with a baby at her breast, has reason to pray to a different power than would an elderly judge about to pass sentence? Life is varied; religion should be too. What an impoverishment, this new faith that has only the myth of Jesus Christ and the prophets! What absurdity to believe that for a myriad of spiritual problems there is never more than one possible solution!

I imagine that most of the time, people will prefer to honour the gods belonging to their own ancestry or else to the place where they live. But the ancients readily welcomed foreign cults—those of Isis, Cybele or Mithras, for example. Why should the gods of Gaul not permit themselves to be adored by those far away? Many today feel they have heard the call of the Celtic gods. So much the worse if they let themselves be seduced by New Age folly, too often for lack of real information on ancient religion. In any case, the gods of Gaul are not silent. Whether the affinity is ancestral, regional or purely spiritual, a great many are already inclining towards them.

The task of these pages is to make it easier to know them. May the Muses guide us, and make known through us the glory of the immortals.


Français (Victor Hugo)
En français svp !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License

« Les désirs et instincts spirituelles sont aussi variés au sein de la famille humaine que le sont les appétits physiques, les teints et les traits. Un homme n’est moralement de son mieux que quand il est doté du vêtement religieux dont la couleur, la forme, la taille s’accommodent le plus agréablement au teint, aux angularités et à l’envergure spirituels de l’individu qui le porte. »
—Mark Twain[1]

POURQUOI LA RELIGION GAULOISE ?

La question est simple, la réponse ne peut l’être. En effet on doit répondre à des questions multiples : Pourquoi la religion ? une religion polythéiste ? celle des Anciens ? et des Anciens de la Gaule ?

Tout d’abord, nous voulons un régime spirituel parce que nous sommes des animaux spirituels. Les êtres humains n’ont jamais cessé de se demander que signifie cet univers bizarre où nous nous trouvons. La réponse « rien » ne captive pas l’imagination, elle ne convainc pas non plus. Or toute autre réponse doit être, dans quelque sens, spirituelle. Même la réponse « rien, mais... » entend un appel à de plus hautes valeurs. « Rien, mais puisque nous sommes ici, il faut vivre authentiquement. —Rien, mais en toute sorte on a l’un l’autre, il convient d’être sympa. —Rien, mais tant que je suis ici, je ne supporte pas que personne ne m’embête. » D’où sortent des valeurs de ce genre ? Le désir de l’authenticité, de courtoisie mutuelle, de fierté individuelle : elles impliquent toutes une conception de la vie bonne qui transcende les donnés matériels immédiats. Voilà la province de la philosophie et de la religion.

Or, ceux de nous qui habitons l’Occident connaissons très bien les conceptions du transcendantal qu’offrent le christianisme, le judaïsme, l’islam. De plus en plus de nous trouvons leurs prescriptions trop naïves, leurs analyses assez superficielles. Dieu a créé l’homme uniquement pour le soumettre à la tentation, le faire souffrir et enfin lui ôter la vie. Ce qui est de pire, Dieu n’a créé la femme que pour servir l’homme — malheureuse créature ! elle ajoute à toutes les afflictions qu’a l’homme, celle d’être sa propriété. Quel dieu a pu être l’auteur de tels tourments ? Le dieu d’Abraham n’a dans son caractère rien de divin ; il montre plutôt la perversité d’une âme infantile sans discipline.

Pire encore, on n’a pas de recours, car cet espiègle divinisé est censé le seul dieu à être. Le seul à répondre à tous les appels de tous les gens à toutes les époques. En même temps que le pieux roi Henri VI prie Dieu de conduire les Anglais à la victoire en France, Jeanne d’Arc en fait de même de la part des Français. Quel dilemme pour le Tout-puissant ! S’il écoute les uns, il faut écraser les autres ; mais tous les deux lui font appel de la même manière et avec la même piété. Évidemment, la seule solution est de les écouter tous les deux, et d’en multiplier les affrontements sans pitié.

Les religions monothéistes multiplient leurs conneries : la fantaisie juvénile d’un paradis remplis de houris, la crainte folle d’une éternité de damnation, le plaisir pharisaïque qu’on trouve en espérant la damnation des autres... Les religions abrahamiques prétendent prêcher la charité tout en semant l’homophobie, le sexisme, la guerre sainte. Elles insistent que toute âme soit coupable de péchés, qu’elle croupit là-dedans, odieuse à son Auteur... même l’âme d’un enfant nouveau-né à qui personne ne pourrait rien reprocher. Et ça pour faire des péchés une espèce de marchandise ; la miséricorde se vent à quelques répétitions du rosaire ou à un voyage à la Mecque. C’est un régime maintenu par la peur constante, par l’exploitation des sentiments d’insécurité, et par les promesses les plus absurdes.

Il faut signaler cependant notre condamnation de toute préjugée ou phobie contre n’importe quelle religion, y compris l’islam, le christianisme et le judaïsme, ou contre ses pratiquants. Les païens antiques ont persécuté parfois les Chrétiens et les Juifs, et ils avaient absolument tort de le faire. Notre réalité contemporaine est fondée sur un pluralisme humaniste qui reconnaît à tout le monde la liberté de pensée et de culte.

En même temps, nous devons faire appel à cette même liberté religieuse en admettons que, à nos avis considérés, les religions abrahamiques offrent peu qui puisse répondre aux besoins d’une personne réfléchie et moderne. Pourtant, l’agnosticisme insipide ne nous offre rien. On est humain : on a soif des rituels, des paradigmes, des symboles pour affirmer la signification de nos vies. Ceci est tout à fait naturel, et pourvu qu’on se mette en garde contre tout fanatisme, il est parfaitement inoffensif. Mieux, la religion nous conduit à vivre mieux, ou du moins à meilleur gré. On a le sentiment de suivre quelque chemin ; les symboles qu’offre la religion en deviennent les panneaux. On se fie aux dieux et remplit son devoir avec confiance.

Quelle religion, alors, peut bien répondre aux besoins des gens modernes ? Une religion dharmique ? Une religion neuve ? Eh bien, celles-là souffrent de beaucoup des mêmes fautes que les religions abrahamiques, celles-ci manquent trop souvent de sophistication. Des religions dites « organisées », l’hindouisme est peut-être la plus attirante, mais lui aussi repose sur les différences de caste, l’exploitation sociale et sexuelle ; il prêche, comme le bouddhisme, que la vie est odieuse, que les sensations sont mauvaises, que tout que nous pouvons sentir est illusoire. Or nos esprits se révoltent naturellement contre toutes ces idées. On n’a pas été doté de sens uniquement pour qu’on refuse de l’employer. Tout comme les fantaisies abrahamiques du paradis, les concepts de mâyâ, des quatre « nobles » vérités, de mokshâ promettent de laisser échapper aux problèmes du vrai monde. Mais il faut précisément y faire face.

À mes collègues néo-païens, je dois reprocher leur tendance de se réfugier dans des théories intellectuelles démodées, remontant plus souvent au XIXe siècle qu’aux racines païennes antiques. Ils y substituent volontiers n’importe quelle mélange de psychanalyse, d’objets et méditations New Age, de prétendue tradition « matriarcale », d’écologie romantisée et peu rigoureuse. On valorise les simples paysans au lieu des gens urbains, les sociétés tribales au lieu des États, la nature au lieu de la culture. Tout ça a une certaine attraction... sauf au moment où on veut examiner ses prétentions de manière rationnelle. Se réclamant offrir une opposition de principe à tous les maux de notre société, cette idéologie facilite plutôt que ses adhérents s’échappent à notre réalité complexe. Peu à peu, le bon sauvage se recule jusqu’à ce qu’on le reconnaît comme une chimère. La patriarchie, l’État, l’industrialisation existent : un cercle aux tambours ne suffit point pour les confronter.

Ce dont on a besoin aujourd’hui est une religion pluraliste, flexible, chez soi dans ce monde-ci. Elle doit être en même temps suffisamment sophistiquée pour répondre de manière convaincante à nos questions les plus profondes. Et elle doit être adaptée à des vies urbaines dans des sociétés d’État.

La première choix est naturellement de revoir la religion qu’on suivait avant de tomber sous l’influence du christianisme ou de l’islam. Tant celle-ci soit basée authentiquement sur les complexités et les contradictions d’une vrai société, tant elle peut servir et être adaptée à nous-autres. Il faut résister à la tendance de substituer nos préjugés aux pratiques et aux croyances des Anciens. Sinon, comme chez trop de néo-païens, le polythéisme devient une toile blanche sur laquelle on peint l’image des craintes et des préoccupations inculquées par les religions abrahamiques. Or, la religion classique — émanant surtout de la Grèce, mais englobant tôt ou tard la plupart de l’Europe, l’Afrique du Nord, le Proche- et Moyen-Orient — cette religion est précisément celle dans laquelle notre culture a été formée. C’est la religion d’Homère et d’Ovide, de Cicéron et de Périclès, d’Aristote et de Marc-Aurèle. La sophistication indéniable de cette tradition a engendré la Renaissance, l’Âge des Lumières, en effet la modernité contemporaine. Ses mythes sont au fond de notre art et littérature ; l’architecture de ses temples a formé celle de nos édifices publics. En retrouvant l’Antiquité, on se retrouve soi-même. Ce qui vaut pour la religion et la philosophie avant tout.

Il faut cependant souligner la spécificité des différentes parties de l’Empire romain ou du monde hellénistique. La Gaule a ses propres racines, sa propre identité au sein du monde dit civilisé, ainsi que l’ont l’Espagne, l’Afrique du Nord, la Syrie, etc. La spécificité gauloise est due à l’encontre fécond entre la civilisation gréco-romaine classique et les traditions locales anciennes (celtique ou autre). On pourrait également tâcher de reconstruire la religion de la Gaule indépendante, et donc à l’écart de la domination de la civilisation latine (une époque où la Gaule était d’ailleurs étroitement liée sur les plans intellectuel et commercial aux Grecs et aux Étrusques). Bien que plus difficile sur le plan technique, ceci serait évidemment une entreprise légitime.

Dans les deux cas, on se retrouve en régime polythéiste, s’accommodant aisément à toutes sortes de croyances et de tempéraments. La mêlée confuse de notre univers, ne peut-on pas bien croire qu’elle soit dirigée par une variété d’influences divines ? qu’une jeune femme chômée, un bébé à la mamelle, devrait prier à une autre puissance qu’un juge âgé qui va prononcer la sentence ? La vie est variée, la religion doit l’être aussi. Quel appauvrissement, cette nouvelle foi qui n’a que le mythe de Jésus-Christ et des prophètes ! Quelle absurdité, l’idée qu’à une myriade de problèmes spirituels il n’y a jamais qu’une solution possible !

J’imagine que dans la plupart des cas, les gens vont préférer d’honorer les dieux de son peuple ou de sa région. Mais les Anciens accueillaient volontiers des cultes étrangers — ceux par exemple d’Isis, de Cybèle ou de Mithras. Pourquoi les dieux de la Gaule ne se laisseraient pas être adorés par des étrangers ? Bien des gens de nos jours croient avoir entendu l’appel des dieux celtiques. Tant pis s’ils se laissent être séduits par l’obscurantisme New Age, très souvent faute de bonnes informations sur la religion antique. En tout cas, les dieux de la Gaule ne se taisent pas. Qu’on ressente des affinités ancestrales, spatiales ou purement spirituelles avec eux, un très grand nombre de personnes s’inclinent déjà vers eux.

La tâche de ces pages-ci est de faciliter ce qu’on les connaissent. Que les Muses nous guident, et racontent à travers nous la gloire des immortels.


Notes

English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · ANNO · POST · R · C · MMDCCLXII · V · S · L · M