Diana of Ephesus and of the Aventine · Abnoba · Luna

A sublime relief of Diana, found at Waldfischbach-Burgalben. Here we have a young and lively looking Diana, carrying arrows and accompanied by a deer (unfinished).
(Historisches Museum der Pfalz, Speyer; 3rd century CE)

Whether as an intrepid huntress, a confirmed virgin, a moon-goddess and a protector of pregnant women, Diana has an allure all her own. At the same time, she is a goddess whose historical importance is out of the ordinary on more than one account. The Gauls were highly faithful to her; they identified with her the deities of several important places, such as Abnoba (goddess of the Black Forest ridge where the Danube rises).

Origins, Family and Entourage

Diana’s twin brother is Apollo, who shares with her a talent for archery, a certain androgyny, and celestial associations (with the Sun in Apollo’s case, with the Moon in Diana’s). Their parents are Jupiter and Latona (a goddess greatly worshipped in Lycia, but relatively little elsewhere). According to the myth, Juno had forbidden the Earth to give Latona any place to give birth, so that the hapless mother had to flee to Delos—an island that had floated till then without being anchored to the Earth.

Unlike her brother, Diana chose a virginity that became proverbial with her. Still, a few episodes may attenuate our notions of Diana’s chastity. According to one tradition, she fell in love with the hunter Orion and would have married him but for his accidental death.[1] Some evidence suggests that the ancient Latins had considered her the partner of Janus. Diana of Ephesus, an important aspect of the goddess that we shall say more of later, is thought to represent a fertility goddess of the Anatolian mother-goddess type. Diana is attended by a train of nymphs who, like her, are virgin huntresses (they are said to frequent the mountains of Arcadia in particular). Diana adopted men’s clothes and habits, and loves women’s company; while she might not actually be a lesbian, she would have trouble convincing the attendees of an LGBTQ rally of that.

In Gaul, Diana’s cult frequently associates her with her brother Apollo. They are depicted together on many Jupiter–giant columns and inscriptions. One inscription at Augsburg jointly invokes Apollo, his partner Sirona and Diana.[2] Other inscriptions invoke Diana with her father Jupiter, with Minerva,[3] with the Capitoline Triad as a whole, with Mars, etc. But the god with whom Diana is in closest communion seems to be Silvanus. Like her, Silvanus presides over forests and wild places. Their cults also share a relatively popular social profile; both can appear as protectors of the common people. Diana’s other particular ‘colleague’ is Hercules, with whom Diana Nemorensis shared a feast day at Rome (13 August); both were deities of strength and perseverance in their respective domains.

Two inscriptions in Lower Germania also associate Diana with Nemesis—perhaps in echo of the myths portraying a vengeful Diana, like those of Niobe or the Calydonian Boar. (By the bye, the ancient Nemesis had rather a positive character; she might be, shall we say, the patron deity of an Elie Wiesel or a Human Rights Watch.) Ancient scholars identified Diana with the moon-goddess Luna, a matter we shall return to below.


Diana sometimes has a boyish appearance; her twin Apollo can also have an androgynous appearance. Like him, Diana can often be recognized by her bow and arrow. Her favourite animal is the deer (including does at times as well as stags), but all wild animals are under her protection, from hounds and boars to hares and otters, even bees and fish. The tree sacred to her is the pine. Among the animals sacrificed to her were the deer, the dog and the goat.[4]

Diana of Ephesus

Great is Diana of the Ephesians! [...] What man is there that knoweth not how that the city of the Ephesians is a worshipper of the great goddess Diana, and of the image which fell down from Jupiter?
     —Luke, Acts[5]

The cult of Diana of Ephesus has an importance all its own in the Mediterranean world. It also has particular implications for Gaul.

Statue at Ephesus
The distinctive image of Diana of Ephesus. Her body is covered with animal and plant motifs; on her chest are a multitude of breasts (sometimes interpreted instead to be eggs or fruits). This is a representation of fertility par excellence.
(Efes Müzesi, Ephesus)

Asia Minor—the Asian part of modern-day Turkey—was particularly noted for its devotion to ‘mother-goddess’ cults. As links with the Greek world grew, such goddesses were identified with various classical goddesses: Cybele in Phrygia, Venus at Aphrodisias ... and Diana at Ephesus. Now, Ephesus is on the Ægean coast of Asia Minor in a region called Ionia. There were, in this region, many cities of great renown (Miletus, Samos, Smyrna, Priene, Didyma, Teos, etc.), but none had a sanctuary that could compare to that of Diana at Ephesus. The Artemision, as it was called, was classed as one of the seven wonders of the world. The goddess was worshipped there in an extraordinary form, covered with breasts as well as small animals. She gained incomparable local prestige, which naturally extended to Phocæa just a little to the north.

So it was that when the Phocæans, expelled from their homeland, arrived on the southern coast of Gaul to found the city of Marseille, they established the cult of Diana of Ephesus in their new colony. This may well have been one of the first Hellenistic deities that the Gauls had a good chance to get to know. Commercial contacts and political links would undoubtedly have won fame for Diana of Ephesus among the peoples surrounding Marseille as well as in the interior. (Compare the analogous impression that Minerva made upon Catumandus.)

Several centuries later, armed Gaulish tribes poured into the eastern Hellenistic world, settling in Asia Minor in 278 bce to become the people known to history as the Galatians. There, they freely adopted the religion of the peoples they conquered (Phrygians, Greeks and remnants descended from the Hittites), in particular the cults of Anatolian mother-goddesses. According to Plutarch, the Galatians “worship[ped] Diana more any other deity”. The Galatian princess Camma was a priestess of Diana; it was in fact before the altar of Diana that Camma avenged her husband’s death in a famous murder-suicide.[6] In observance of a religious taboo, the Galatians of Pessinus—the holy city of Cybèle—even gave up the eating of pork[7] (a staple of the Gauls in Europe).

Goddess on the Aventine

The Italian Diana was given the same mythology as her Greek counterpart Artemis, with certain local particularities. Diana’s chief holiday at Rome, celebrated on 13 August, was called the Nemoralia after Lake Nemi near the town of Aricia. This is a picturesque volcanic lake, endowed with a highly prestigious sanctuary. Referring to the goddess of this location, the Romans often spoke of Diana Aricina or Diana Nemorensis.

In Rome, Diana possessed a temple on the Aventine. This was one of the most important temples in Rome on account of its age, its enviable location, and its influence on provincial ritual. The Aventine’s situation facing the Palatine made it a traditional place of refuge for plebeians. The temple was built with the participation of Latin peoples allied with Rome, and the regulations for worship there were subsequently taken as a model for other temples, such as that dedicated to the numen of Augustus at Narbo.[8]

These places of worship—the Aventine and Lake Nemi—highlight Diana as a protector of refugees. The plebs sought refuge on the Aventine in 449 bce in a kind of general strike avant la lettre. Furthermore, the priest of Diana at Lake Nemi was always a fugitive slave: a newly arrived runaway had to kill the incumbent priest in single combat to become his successor as the rex nemorensis (‘king of Nemi’).

Relief (Jupiter column)
Relief of Diana on the Jupiter column at Arlon.
(Musée archéologique luxembourgeois, Arlon)


The Gauls frequently bestowed on the goddess the title of Augusta; the Britons even called her regina ‘queen’ on one inscription.[9] One might imagine a connection between Diana and the Celtic goddess Rigana, known from the Gaulish phrase rigani rosmertiac.[10] Sancta ‘holy’ is the other adjective often epigraphically given to Diana (which is not the case for all gods). The educated might also call her Phœbe, Cynthia or Latonia.

I count some 85 inscriptions in her honour in Gaul and 13 in Great Britain. The largest concentration is in Upper Germany where there are 35 inscriptions, including 2 dedicated to Diane Abnoba (see below). In the Germanic provinces, it was common to erect altars or inscriptions in honour of a long list of deities at once; I find five such on which Diana’s name appears. Seven inscriptions invoke Diana with Silvanus, compared with four with her own brother Apollo. The complementarity of the roles of Diana and Silvanus must have struck the Gauls. One inscription of this sort at Artigue in the département of the Haute-Garonne also invokes the dii montani ‘mountain-gods’.[11]

Diana Abnoba

Patroness of the hunt and of wild animals, Diana is clearly right at home in the Black Forest, where she was particularly worshipped. The local epithet given to her there is Abnoba, as at Badenweiler, Mühlenbach and Stettfeld. She is thus the eponymous deity of the ridge—which Ptolemy calls the Abnobaei hills—where the sources of the Danube are found.[12] These are in today’s district of Schwarzwald–Baar in Baden-Württemberg. Other inscriptions honouring the goddess Abnoba, without identifying her with Diana, have been found at Alpirsbach, Bad Cannstatt, Pforzheim and Waldmössingen.

Further down the Rhine, the people of Wiesbaden present a different aspect of Diana, namely Diane Mattiaca. Since the local tribe are the Mattiaci and Wiesbaden is their capital, Aquae Mattiacorum, the name Diane Mattiaca may thus be rendered as ‘Diana the Wiesbadener’.


Regina nemorum, sola quae montes colis
et una solis montibus coleris dea,
conuerte tristes ominum in melius minas.
O magna siluas inter et lucos dea,
clarumque caeli sidus et noctis decus,
cuius relucet mundus alterna uice,
Hecate triformis, en ades coeptis fauens.
“O Diana queen of the groves, thou who in solitude lovest thy mountain-haunts,
and who upon the solitary mountains art alone held holy,
change for the better these dark, ill-omened threats.
O great goddess of the woods and groves,
bright orb of heaven, glory of the night,
by whose changing beams the universe shines clear,
O three-formed Hecate, lo, thou art at hand, favouring our undertaking.”
     —Seneca, Phædra, ll. 406-412 (trans. Miller).

It is commonplace to associate Diana with the Moon, but the reality is a bit more complex. In iconography and mythology, Dea Luna can be a distinct goddess. Her attributes are a crescent moon and sometimes a chariot. Like her brother Sol, she can claim a more ancient lineage than Jupiter himself. Still, one avatar of Diana is depicted as a lunar goddess and forms a trinity with Hecate and Dea Luna, as in the passage of Seneca above. Philosophical speculation promoted this identification. For example, when Salustius sought to identify each of the seven planets and five elements with one of the twelve Olympians, it was naturally with Diana that he identified the Moon and with Apollo the Sun.

The ‘three forms’ of Diana–Luna–Hecate may correspond to the moon in its several phases (full, crescent, and new). Thanks to these dark associations, Hecate became the the favourite goddess of Greek and Roman sorcerers, invoked at crossroads at night to carry out black magic. Her attribute is the torch.

Magical practices are known in all societies (even, to be sure, in the modern-day West), and in a polytheistic framework where every human activity is under the ægis of one deity or another, it goes without saying that there must be ‘infernal gods’ presiding over sorcery and invoked by the wicked. The Gauls adopted the Roman practice of inscribing curses on lead tablets (defixiones), some of which still survive. None of these tablets are yet known to invoke Hecate, though the latter was not unknown in Gaul. One perfectly innocent-seeming inscription commemorates the fulfilment of a vow in favour of Mercury Vosegus and Ecate (sic) at Le Donon.[13] The cult of Hecate does not seem to have been particularly linked with magical practices in Gaul.


While Diana’s healing role is by no means prominent in Gaul, none can deny her significance in other domains. The terms ‘august’ and even ‘queen’ confirm her high status. As in other lands, she presides over the hunt and over wild places such as forests and Abnoba’s ridge in the Black Forest. The Gauls followed, at least at Narbo, the cult regulations laid down at the temple of Diana on the Aventine, and they honoured the goddess (with Hercules) on 13 August, the day of the Nemoralia. They were also no strangers to the goddess of Ephesus, a fertility goddess in the Anatolian style.


Français (Victor Hugo)
En français svp !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License

DIANAE ABNOBAE : à DIANE ABNOBA

Diane d’Éphèse et de l’Aventin · Abnoba · Lune

Relief
Sublime relief de Diane, trouvé à Waldfischbach-Burgalben. Voici Diane au visage jeune et vital, portant des flèches et accompagnée d’un cervidé (non fini).
(Historisches Museum der Pfalz, Speyer ; IIIe siècle de notre ère)

Chasseresse intrépide, vierge confirmée, déesse lunaire, protectrice des femmes enceintes, Diane a une allure intrinsèque toute propre. En même temps, elle est pour plusieurs raisons une déesse dont l’importance historique se démarque de l’ordinaire. Les Gaulois lui sont très fidèles ; ils identifient à elle les divinités de plusieurs endroits importants, comme Abnoba (déesse de l’éminence dans la Forêt Noire d’où la Danube tient sa source).

Origines, famille, entourage

Le jumeau de Diane est Apollon, qui partage avec elle un talent pour le tir à l’arc, une certaine androgynie, et des associations célestes (à Apollon le Soleil, à Diane la Lune). Leurs parents sont Jupiter et Latone (une déesse très vénérée en Lycie, mais assez peu ailleurs). Le mythe veut que Junon ait interdit à la Terre de fournir à Latone un endroit à accoucher, et que celle-ci devait s’enfuir à Délos — une île qui flottait jusque là sans être ancrée à la Terre.

À la contraire de son frère, Diane choisit une virginité qui sera chez elle proverbiale. Quelques épisodes servent pourtant à relativiser la chasteté de Diane. Une tradition veut par exemple qu’elle aimât le chasseur Orion et allât se marier à lui avant sa mort accidentelle.[1] Des évidences suggèrent aussi que les Latins antiques la considérassent comme la partenaire de Janus. Diane d’Éphèse, un aspect important de la déesse dont on reparlera, représenterait une déesse de fertilité du type déesse-mère anatolienne. Diane s’entoure d’une bande de nymphes qui sont chasseresses vierges, comme elle (elles fréquentent notamment les montagnes d’Arcadie). Diane adopte les habitudes et l’habit des hommes ; elle aime la compagnie des femmes ; si elle n’est pas lesbienne, elle aurait du mal à en convaincre l’assistance d’une manif GLBT.

En Gaule, le culte associe Diane fréquemment à son frère Apollon. On les voit ensemble sur bien des colonnes de Jupiter et des inscriptions. Une inscription à Augsbourg invoque à la fois Apollon, sa parèdre Sirona et Diane.[2] D’autres inscriptions invoquent Diane avec son père Jupiter, avec Minerve,[3] avec la Triade capitoline toute entière, avec Mars, etc. Mais le dieu avec lequel la Diane gauloise semble s’entendre le mieux, c’est Silvain. Comme elle, Silvain patronne les forêts et les lieux sauvages. Leurs cultes partagent aussi un profile social plutôt populaire ; les deux peuvent se manifester en protecteurs du menu peuple. L’autre « collègue » spécial de Diane, c’est Hercule, avec qui Diane Nemorensis partage un jour de fête à Rome (le 13 août) ; les deux président à la force et à la persévérance dans leurs domaines respectifs.

Deux inscriptions en Germanie-inférieure associent Diane également à Némésis — écho peut-être des mythes qui représentent Diane en vengeresse, comme ceux de Niobé ou du sanglier calydonien. (D’ailleurs, la Némésis antique a un caractère plutôt positif ; elle serait, disons, la déesse patronne de Elie Wiesel ou de Human Rights Watch.) Des érudits antiquent identifient Diane à la déesse Lune, une matière à laquelle on revient infra.

Attributs

Diane a parfois un air de garçon ; son jumeau Apollon présente également une image androgyne. Comme lui, Diane se reconnaît par l’arc et les flèches dont elle s’arme. Son animal favori est le cerf, voire plutôt la biche. D’ailleurs, tous les animaux sauvages se trouvent sous sa protection, en particulier les chiens à chasse, les sangliers, les lièvres, les outardes, les abeilles et les poissons. L’arbre qui lui est sacré, c’est le sapin. On lui sacrifiait des cerfs, des chiens et des chèvres.[4]

Diane d’Éphèse

Grande est la Diane des Éphésiens ! [...] Quel est celui qui ignore que la ville d’Éphèse est la gardienne du temple de la grande Diane et de son simulacre tombé du ciel ?
     — Luc, Actes[5]

Le culte de Diane d’Éphèse est d’une importance toute singulière dans le monde méditerranéen. Il a également des conséquences particulières pour la Gaule.

Statue à Éphèse
L’image distinctive de la Diane d’Éphèse. Son corps est couvert de motifs animaux et végétaux ; sur sa poitrine se trouve une multitude de seins (ou bien d’œufs ou de fruits, selon l’interprétation). Une représentation de la fertilité par excellence.
(Efes Müzesi, Éphèse)

Bref, l’Asie mineure (partie asiatique de la Turquie actuelle) est dévouée aux cultes dits des déesses-mères. Les relations que l’on entame avec le monde grec résultent en plusieurs identifications des déesses de ce genre : Cybèle en Phrygie, Vénus à Aphrodisias ... et Diane à Éphèse. Or, Éphèse se trouve sur la côte égéenne d’Asie mineure dans la région d’Ionie. Plein de villes d’éclat s’y trouvent (Milète, Samos, Smyrne, Priène, Didymes, Téos), mais aucune ne possède de sanctuaire qui puisse rivaliser à celui de Diane à Éphèse. L’Artémision est devenu l’une des sept merveilles du monde. La déesse y est adorée sous une forme singulière, couverte de seins et de petits animaux. Elle connaît un prestige local sans paire, ce qui s’étend évidemment à Phocée, qui se trouve peu au nord.

C’est ainsi que les Phocéens, venus s’installer à Marseille, y ont établi le culte de Diane d’Éphèse. Il s’agirait sans doute de l’une des premières divinités hellénistiques que les Gaulois auraient pu bien connaître. Les contacts commerciaux, les liens politiques, ont sans doute gagné pour la Diane d’Éphèse une renommée importante parmi les peuples des alentours de Marseille comme de l’intérieur. (Comparons l’impression analogue que Minerve a suscité chez Catumandus.)

Plusieurs siècles plus tard, des peuplades armées gauloises ont fait irruption dans le monde hellénistique d’Orient, s’établissant en Asie mineure en l’an 278 avant notre ère pour devenir ce que nous appelons les Galates. Ils y adoptèrent volontiers la religion des peuples conquis (Phrygiens, Grecs, éléments descendus des Hittites), et notamment les cultes des déesses-mères anatoliennes. Selon Plutarque, les Galates « adorent Diane plus que tout autre dieu ». La princesse galate Camma était prêtresse de Diane ; c’était même devant l’autel de Diane que Camma s’est vengée de la mort de son mari par un meutre-suicide.[6] En observant un tabou religieux, les Galates de Pessinonte — lieu saint du culte de Cybèle — ont même renoncé à la consommation du porc[7] (une denrée principale des Gaulois d’Europe — et pas seulement d’Obélix !).

Déesse de l’Aventin

La Diane italique est dotée de la même mythologie que son homologue grecque Artémis, avec quelques spécificités locales. La fête principale de Diane à Rome, observée le 13 août, s’appelle les némoralies après le lac de Nemi dans le territoire de la ville d’Aricia. Il s’agit là d’un pittoresque lac volcanique doté d’un sanctuaire très prestigieux. Grâce à cet ensemble, les Romains parlent souvent de Diana Aricina ou Diana Nemorensis.

À Rome, Diane possédait un temple sur l’Aventin. C’est un des temples les plus importants à Rome en raison de son âge, de son emplacement enviable et de son influence en province. La situation de l’Aventin en face du Palatin en a fait un lieu de refuge traditionnel pour les plébéiens. Le temple a été construit avec la participation des peuples latins alliés des Romains, et par la suite on a pris ses règlements pour modèle dans d’autres temples, comme celui dédié au numen d’Auguste à Narbonne.[8]

Ces deux lieux de culte — l’Aventin et le lac de Nemi — montrent une Diane protectrice des réfugiés. La plèbe s’est réfugiée sur l’Aventin en 449 avant notre ère ; il s’agissait d’un espèce de grève générale avant la lettre. En outre, le prêtre de Diane au lac de Nemi était un esclave fugitif ; le nouveau réfugié devait tuer au combat le prêtre existant pour le supplanter et devenir ainsi le nouveau rex nemorensis (« roi de Nemi »).

Relief (colonne de Jupiter)
Relief de Diane sur la colonne de Jupiter à Arlon.
(Musée archéologique luxembourgeois, Arlon)

Épithètes

Les Gaulois accordait fréquemment à la déesse le qualité d’Augusta ; les Bretons l’ont même appellée regina dans une inscription.[9] On pourrait envisager un lien entre Diane et la déesse gauloise Rigana, qu’on connaît grâce au mot celtique rigani rosmertiac.[10] L’autre adjectif que les épigraphies attribuent fréquemment à Diane, c’est sancta (ce qui n’est pas le cas chez tous les dieux). Les lettrés l’appelaient aussi Phœbé, Cynthia, Latonia.

Je compte quelques 85 inscriptions en son honneur en Gaule et 13 en Grande-Bretagne. La plus grande concentration, c’est en Germanie-supérieure où on trouve 35 inscriptions, y compris les deux dédiées à Diane Abnoba (vide infra). Dans les provinces germaniques, on a souvent érigé des autels ou des inscriptions en l’honneur de beaucoup de divinités à la fois ; j’en trouve cinq où figure le nom de Diane. Sept inscriptions invoquent Diane avec Silvain, contre quatre avec son propre frère Apollon. La complémentarité des fonctions de Diane et de Silvain a dû frappé les Gaulois. Une inscription de ce genre à Artigue (Haute-Garonne) invoque également les « Dieux des montagnes ».[11]

Diane Abnoba

Patronne de la chasse, des animaux sauvages, Diane est évidemment chez elle dans la Forêt Noire, où on lui consacre un culte spécial. En effet, l’épithète indigène qu’on y trouve est Abnoba, qui fait d’elle la déesse éponyme de l’éminence où se trouve les sources de la Danube. Des inscriptions sont dédiées à Diane Abnoba à Badenweiler, à Mühlenbach et à Stettfeld. Selon Ptolémée, ce seraient aux monts Abnobaei où se trouvent les sources de la Danube,[12] qui, dans l’occurrence, se situent dans l’actuel arrondissement de Forêt-Noire–Baar (Bade-Wurtemberg). D’autres inscriptions honorent la déesse Abnoba, sans l’identifier à Diane, à Alpirsbach, Bad Cannstatt, Pforzheim et Waldmössingen.

Leurs voisins à Wiesbaden présentent un autre aspect de Diane, à savoir Diane Mattiaca. Or, la nation établie sur place et dont le chef-lieu est Wiesbaden, ce sont les Mattiaques. La ville même se nomme Aquae Mattiacorum ; l’appellation Diane Mattiaca est donc à interpréter comme « Diane la wiesbadenaise ».

Diane–Lune–Hécate

Regina nemorum, sola quae montes colis
et una solis montibus coleris dea,
conuerte tristes ominum in melius minas.
O magna siluas inter et lucos dea,
clarumque caeli sidus et noctis decus,
cuius relucet mundus alterna uice,
Hecate triformis, en ades coeptis fauens.
« Ô reine des bosquets, qui seule fréquentes les montagnes
et qui aux montagnes solitaires es adorée comme l’unique déesse,
que tu convertisses ces mines tristes et sinistres.
Ô grande déesse des bois et des forêts,
clair orbe du ciel aussi, gloire de la nuit,
dont les rayons rallument le monde une fois encore,
Hécate aux trois formes, favorisant ce même autel. »
     — Sénèque, Phèdre, ll. 406-412.

Il est banal d’associer Diane à la lune, mais la réalité est un peu plus complexe. Sur le plan iconographique et mythologique, Dea Luna peut être une déesse distincte. Ses attributs sont la lune croissante et parfois le chariot. Comme son frère le Dieu Soleil, elle peut réclamer une ascendance plus ancienne que Jupiter même. Cependant, il y a un avatar de Diane qui est figurée en déesse-lune, et qui forme une trinité avec Hécate et Dea Luna, comme dans le passage de Sénèque ci-dessus. La spéculation philosophique a mis en valeur cette identification. Saloustios, par exemple, a voulu identifier tous les planètes et les éléments aux douze Olympiens, et c’est évidemment à Diane qu’il a identifié la Lune et à Apollon le Soleil.

Les « trois formes » de Diane–Lune–Hécate peuvent correspondre aux phases de la lune (pleine, croissante, nouvelle). Hécate, grâce à ces associations ténébreuses, devient la déesse favorite des sorciers grecs et romains, invoquée la nuit et aux carrefours pour effectuer la magie noire. Son attribut est la torche.

Toutes les sociétés connaissent des pratiques magiques (oui, même l’Occident moderne), et dans un régime polythéiste où toute activité humaine se trouve sous l’égide d’une divinité ou d’une autre, il va de soi qu’il existe des « dieux infernaux », invoqués par les méchants, qui président à la sorcellerie. Les Gaulois ont adopté la pratique romaine d’inscrire des malédictions sur des tablettes en plomb (les défixions), dont certaines survivent jusqu’à nos jours. Aucune de ces tablettes n’invoque jusqu’ici Hécate ; pourtant, celle-ci n’est pas inconnue en Gaule. Une inscription apparemment innocente commémore l’acquittement d’un vœu à la faveur de Mercure le Vosgien et d’Ecate (sic) au Donon.[13] Le culte d’Hécate ne semble pas avoir été spécialement lié à la magie en Gaule.

Conclusions

Si le rôle de Diane comme guérisseuse n’est guère évidente en Gaule, nul ne peut nier l’importance qu’on lui accordait en d’autres domaines. Les termes d’« auguste », voire de « reine », attestent de son haut statut. Elle préside comme ailleurs à la chasse, aux bois sauvages et aux éminences comme celle de la Forêt-Noire. Les Gaulois ont suivi, du moins à Narbonne, les règlements du temple de Diane à l’Aventin, et ils ont honoré la déesse (avec Hercule) le 13 août, jour des némoralies. Non moins ont-ils connu et adoré la déesse d’Éphèse, déesse de la fécondité à l’anatolienne.


Références

English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · ANNO · POST · R · C · MMDCCLXV · V · S · L · M