The goal of this site is to accommodate both the study and the practice of the religious traditions of Gaul. This is a pretty broad undertaking, and it will have to develop gradually. If you’d like to help, don’t hesitate to get in touch!

My intention is to develop the site first in French, then translate pages into English when I’m reasonably satisfied with them. If you can read French, you can get the straight scoop right away.

Below is an outline of the site’s scope and progress:

Note on the Pictures

Most of the photographs on this site are my own (Viducus Brigantici filius’). Exceptions will be noted. On the first page, a bas-relief from the Treveran region depicts a sea creature; it can be found in the Rheinisches Landesmuseum in Trier. The error page carries the famous relief of the man-eating she-wolf in the Musée Archéologique d’Arlon. The ram-headed snake that can be seen on the introduction page, among others, appears on a plaque of the Gundestrup cauldron (the original photo is in the public domain). The background design is my own creation based on decorative elements on monuments from the Treveran region. The collages of flags and notable writers are also my creations, but based on free-licensed images from Wikimedia Commons (of which Goethe, Hugo and Shakespeare are notably in the public domain); the same is true of the maps, which I’ve created from public-domain map resources. Unless otherwise noted, I license the text and images on this website under a Creative Commons licence (attribution-share alike 3.0 unported).

Note on the Latin tag-line

One characteristic of us polytheistic reconstructionists is that we have a lot of fun being studiously archaic (a bit like the Society for Creative Anachronism at times). So, each page in this website concludes with the mystifying words “Deo Mercurio ceterisq(ue) diis deabusq(ue) immortalibus Viducus Brigantici f(ilius) anno post R(omam) c(onditam) MMDCCLXII v(otum) s(olvit) l(ibens) m(erito)”, or a close variation of it. This means that I (Viducus, son of Briganticus) (not my real name) made a vow to Mercury and the other immortal gods and goddesses that I would create this website, and in 2009, lo and behold, I have fulfilled it. Doing my best, anyway!

Note on the site’s general appearance

In 2012, the site underwent a makeover in order to make it easier to read and access the available information. For the same reason, we rolled out a mobile version in early 2014. We hope you like it!

Français (Victor Hugo)
En français, s.v.p. !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License

DEO MERCURIO

Bienvenue !

L’ambition de ce site est d’accommoder et l’étude et la pratique des traditions religieuses de la Gaule. C’est donc une assez grande entreprise, qui devra se développer au fur et à mesur. Si vous pouvez aider, n’hésitez pas à me contacter !

Voici la portée et le progrès du site :

Note sur les images

La plupart des photographies sur ce site sont les miennes (donc faites par Viducus Brigantici filius). Les exceptions seront notées. Sur la page première, un bas-relief de la région trévire représente une créature marine ; il se trouve dans le Rheinisches Landesmuseum à Trèves. La page erreur porte le relief célèbre de la louve anthropophage au Musée archéologique d’Arlon. Le serpent à tête de bélier qu’on trouve sur la page d’introduction, parmi d’autres, figure sur une plaque du chaudron de Gundestrup (la photographie originelle est en domaine public). Le dessein de l’arrière-plan est ma propre création à partir des éléments décoratifs sur les monuments de la région trévire. Les collages de drapeaux et d’écrivains notables sont eux aussi mes créations, mais à partir des images à licence libre des Wikimedia Commons (dont notamment Goethe, Hugo et Shakespeare sont en domaine public) ; le même vaut pour les cartes, que j’ai créées à partir des ressources cartographiques en domaine public. Sauf notice contraire, je publie le texte et les images sur ce web sous une licence Creative Commons (paternité-partage des conditions initiales à l’identique 3.0 unported).

Note sur le slogan latin

L’une des singularités de nous reconstructionistes polythéistes est le plaisir que nous tirons d’être toujours soigneusement archaïques (parfois un peu comme la Society for Creative Anachronism). C’est ainsi que chaque page de ce web conclut avec les mots mystérieux « Deo Mercurio ceterisq(ue) diis deabusq(ue) immortalibus Viducus Brigantici f(ilius) anno post R(omam) c(onditam) MMDCCLXII v(otum) s(olvit) l(ibens) m(erito) », ou une variation près. Ça veut dire que moi (Viducus, fils de Briganticus) (pas mon vrai nom) ai voué à Mercure et aux autres dieux et déesses immortels que j’aille créer ce web, et oup ! voilà, en 2009, je l’ai fait. Ou du moins que j’en fais de mon mieux !

Note sur l’apparence générale du site

J’ai « relooké » le site en 2012 afin de faciliter la lecture continue et l’utilisation des informations accessibles. Pour la même raison, j’ai sorti une version mobile début 2014. On espère que cela vous plaît !

English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · ANNO · POST · R · C · MMDCCLXV · V · S · L · M