Bronze head
The bronze head of a goddess, dedicated by a citizen of Vienne. It is to be identified as Juno, unless it is an allegorical figure. She wears a diadem. Provenance: Serpaize, département of the Isère.
(Musée de la civilisation gallo-romaine, Lyon)

The character of Juno is as complex as society’s contradictory ideas on women. Juno Regina, queen of the gods, mistress of the heavens, is the chief antagonist in the Æneid no less than in the Iliad. She protects women, particularly pregnant women, and protects the inviolability of marriage. At the same time, she it was who prevented Latona from giving birth to Apollo and Diana on account of the act of adultery by her husband Jupiter that produced her eminent step-children.[1] In short, she incarnates all that the ancients might have thought of Woman, of Wife, of Queen: pride, capriciousness, jealousy, power, seduction and motherhood.

Gaulish dedications to Juno are not rare. Their context is normally with Jupiter Optimus Maximus, underscoring the pair’s complementary role as king and queen of heaven. These two Olympians—brother and sister as well as husband and wife—together look after the good order of the cosmos. The tension that exists between them, a constant motif of their mythology, is what sets in motion the dynamism of the universe, like yin and yang.

With Jupiter’s daughter Minerva, the couple form the Capitoline Triad who oversaw the stability of the Roman state from their holy temple in the Capitol. Quite often, these three together are invoked in the Gallic provinces, most often along the Rhine (i.e. in a heavily militarized zone) to ensure the well-being of the Empire that the soldiery was struggling to protect. In such contexts, invocations of Jupiter and Juno often include long series of other deities, or even “all other immortal gods”.[2]

Juno enthroned
Marble statue of Juno enthroned.
(Rheinisches Landesmuseum, Trier)

As woman is widely associated, for good or ill, with domestic life, Juno has a key role in domestic worship. The Kalends—the first day of each month—are dedicated to her,[3] and thus she received the monthly devotions of every Roman household before the little shrine dedicated to the Lares, or household gods. To Juno belongs the empire of the private sphere, as Jupiter presides over public life. One of Juno’s close associates is the Mother of the Lares (Mater Larum), according to the Arval Brethren at Rome. All females are guided not by a ‘genius’, but by a ‘juno’. These powers can be likened to the Suleviæ who stem instead from Celtic roots. One inscription from Rinxent in the Pas-de-Calais even invokes the ‘Suleviæ Junones’, and it is perhaps the Suleviæ that some of the worshippers had in mind who dedicated some fifteen inscriptions in honour of the Junones in Gallia Belgica and Germania Inferior.[2]

The cult of Juno Regina is typically found in such Romanized contexts as the militarized zone along the Rhine, the administrative centre of Trier, the colony of Nîmes, etc. Still, one may wonder whether Juno, to whom the title of Regina ‘queen’ is nearly always accorded, might not perpetuate in a Gallo-Roman context the cult of the Celtic goddess Rigana, who may be attested in a Gaulish-language dedication rigani rosmertiac, ‘to the Queen and to Rosmerta’.[4]

Juno’s attributes are the sceptre, the diadem and at times the patera (offering dish). Her favourite animal is the peacock, followed by the cuckoo and crow. As a symbol of matrimony, the pomegranate can be sacred to her,[1] although this fruit arguably has stronger associations with Pluto and Prosperina.


Français (Victor Hugo)
En français svp !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License

IVNONI REGINAE : à JUNON la REINE

Tête en bronze
Tête de déesse en bronze, dédiée par un citoyen de Vienne. À identifier comme Junon, à condition de ne pas être une figure allégorique. Elle porte un diadème. Provenance : Serpaize (Isère).
(Musée de la civilisation gallo-romaine, Lyon)

Le caractère de Junon est aussi complexe que les idées contradictoires que la société porte sur la femme. Junon, reine des dieux, souveraine des cieux, est l’antagoniste principale de l’Énéide comme de l’Iliade. Elle protège les femmes, surtout les enceintes, et veille à l’inviolabilité du mariage. C’est pourtant elle qui aurait défendu à Latone de donner naissance à Apollon et Diane en raison de l’adultère de son époux Jupiter qui a produit ses augustes beaux-fils.[1] En un mot, elle incarne tout ce que les anciens ont pu pensé de la Femme, de l’Épouse, de la Reine : fierté, caprice, jalousie, puissance, séduction, maternité.

Les dédicaces gauloises à Junon ne sont pas rares. Leur contexte est normalement avec Jupiter Optimus Maximus, ce qui souligne le rôle complémentaire des deux comme roi et reine des cieux. En effet, ces deux Olympiens — frère et sœur, époux et épouse — veillent ensemble au bon ordre du cosmos. La tension qui existe entre eux, motif constant de leur mythologie, est celle qui met en motion le dynamisme de l’univers comme le yin et le yang.

Avec Minerve, fille de Jupiter, ce couple constitue la Triade Capitoline, les garants de la stabilité de l’État romain depuis le saint temple du Capitole. Très souvent, ce sont les trois ensemble qu’on invoque en Gaule, le plus souvent le long du Rhin (c.-à-d. en zone militaire), pour assurer le salut de l’Empire que ces soldats luttaient pour protéger. Dans ces contextes, les invocations de Jupiter et de Junon comprennent souvent de longs séries d’autres dieux, voire « tous les autres dieux ».[2]

Junon intrônisée
Statue en marbre de Junon en trône.
(Rheinisches Landesmuseum, Trèves)

Comme la femme s’associe, tant bien que mal, à la domesticité, Junon a un rôle particulier dans le culte domestique. Les kalendes — premier jour de chaque mois — lui sont dédiées,[3] et c’est donc elle qui reçoit un culte mensuel dans tous les foyers romanisés devant un petit autel dédié aux lares (les dieux de la maison). C’est à Junon l’empire de la sphère privée, comme Jupiter préside à la sphère publique. La Mère des lares (Mater Larum) est une proche de Junon (du moins pour les Frères arvales à Rome). Les personnes de sexe féminin sont guidées non par un « génie », mais par une « junon ». On peut comparer ces puissances-ci aux Sulévies issues apparemment d’une tradition plutôt celtique. Une inscription à Rinxent (Pas-de-Calais) invoque même les « Sulévies junons », et c’est peut-être les Sulévies qu’il faut entendre par la quinzaine d’inscriptions en l’honneur collective des junons en Gaule belgique et en Germanie-inférieure.[2]

Le culte de Junon la Reine s’inscrit normalement dans les milieux romanisés — zone militaire du Rhin, centre administratif de Trèves, colonie de Nîmes, etc. Cependant, on se demande si Junon, à qui on accorde presque toujours le surnom de Regina « reine », aurait parfois repris dans un contexte gallo-romain le culte d’une déesse celtique Rigana, qui est attestée dans une dédicace en langue gauloise rigani rosmertiac, « à la Reine et à Rosmerta ».[4]

Les attributs de Junon sont le sceptre, le diadème et parfois la patère. Son animal favori, c’est le paon, et parfois aussi le coucou et le corbeau. La grenade, en tant qu’emblème des noces, peut lui être sacrée,[1] encore que l’association de ce fruit avec Pluton et Prosperine soit peut-être plus forte.


Références

English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · ANNO · POST · R · C · MMDCCLXVI · V · S · L · M