SVLEVIIS: to the SULEVIÆ

While low-key, the Suleviæ are nevertheless quintessentially (Germano?-)Celtic goddesses. Their name is to be interpreted as ‘good rulers’ or ‘good guides’;Xavier Delamarre (2003). Dictionnaire de la langue gauloise. Errance, p. 286. In the original, “bonnes dirigeantes”, “bonnes guides”. it is made up of the prefix su- ‘good’The Gaulish prefix su- corresponds to the Greek eu- —both mean ‘good’ or ‘well’ (and thus the Greek name Εὐγένιος or Eugene, for example, means ‘well-born’). The same Gaulish prefix is to be found in Sucellus, the ‘good striker’. and the root leuia, related for example to the Welsh llywydd ‘leader’.Nicole Jufer & Thierry Luginbühl (2001), Les dieux gaulois : répertoire des noms de divinités celtiques connus par l'épigraphie, les textes antiques et la toponymie. Errance, pp. 15, 64. Over forty votive inscriptions in their honour are knownHere is the list (plain text), which I’ve drawn from the Epigraphik Datenbank Clauss-Slaby (accessed 10 January 2015). across an area stretching from Great Britain to Pannonia, with a particular concentration in Germania Superior (today’s Baden, Palatinate, Alsace and especially Switzerland). They are most often invoked in the plural (Sule(u)iis or even Suleuiabus, 41 inscriptions), but there are also some invocations in the singular (Suleuiae, 3 inscriptions).

The most noteworthy worshippers of the Suleviæ are the Equites Singulares Augusti (‘Emperor’s Own Horseguard’), many of whom were drawn from the Romano-Celtic provinces.This regiment also actively participated in other religious cults of interest to us, such as those of Epona and Jupiter Optimus Maximus Dolichenus. This élite cavalry unit left 13 inscribed monuments in Rome that mention the Suleviæ. Most often this is done as part of a series of deities, most of whom can be recognized as the leading gods and goddess of Roman Gaul: Iovi Optimo Maximo Ivnoni Minervae Marti Victoriae Hercvli Fortvnae Mercvrio Felicitati Salvti Fatis Campestribvs Silvano Apollini Dianae Eponae Matribvs Svlevis et genio singvlarivm Avg ceterisq dis immortalibvs, ‘to Jupiter Best and Greatest, Juno, Minerva [the deities of the Capitoline Triad], Mars, Victoria, Hercules, Fortuna, Mercury, Felicity, Salus, the Fates, the Campestres, Silvanus, Apollo, Diana, Epona, the Matronæ, the Suleviæ and the genius of the Equites Singulares Augusti as well as the other undying gods ».These deities appear in virtually the same order on nine monuments: Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL) vi: 31140, 31141, 31142 31145, 31146, 31148, 31149, 31174 and 31175. One of these inscriptions leaves out Hercules and Fortuna (CIL vi: 31141), another omits only Hercules (CIL vi: 31142), and yet another omits only Fortuna (CIL vi: 31174), while one invokes the Fates ahead of Salus (CIL vi: 31148). Other variations concern only spelling or abbreviations. This clearly is a standard ‘pantheon’ of the Equites Singulares. Another list differs significantly from the one just described (CIL vi: 31171); it was not dedicated collectively but by an individual veteran. I also find three inscriptions like this whose shorter lists of deities leave out the Suleviæ (CIL vi: 31138, 31143 and 31143). The position of the Suleviæ on monuments like this is not without significance. First comes the Capitoline Triad, the divine guardians of the Roman state, followed by deities of military prowess, prosperity and health—thus palpably in declining order of importance from the point of view of a military unit charged with the protection of the Empire in the person of the prince. From there, we move on to deities who watch over the fields, woods, springsThe Equites Singulares group Apollo with Silvanus and Diana; they are probably thinking of his role as patron of healing hot springs rather than his roles as archer, musician, leader of the Muses, etc. The Campestres might be gods of the training-ground, if not of the battleground. Silvanus protects both fields and groves; Diana is at home in wild forests and mountains. and horses—elements of the natural world of some importance to cavalrymen—concluding at last with the humble Mother-Goddesses, our Suleviæ, the genius of the regiment, and a catch-all formula. Thus, for the Equites Singulares, the Suleviæ would seem to belong to the same level as the semones, genii or nymphs, rather than that of the higher Olympian gods.

Other evidence reinforces the impression that the Suleviæ are closely akin to genii and junos. The Helvetii, among others, made offerings to “their Sule(u)iae”, as though everybody had their own.The Helvetii often leave out the V of Suleiae. CIL vi: 31161 (Rome, cavalryman of the Equites Singulares), CIL xiii: 5027 (Lausanne), CIL xiii: 11499 (Soleure), Année Épigraphique (AE) 1939: 211 (Lausanne). At Cologne, three men invoked Sule[u]is Domest[i]cis suis ‘their household Suleviæ’.CIL xiii: 12056. Thus, such Suleviæ direct the good conduct of domestic affairs; each household or person therefore presumably has one (or more). This situation may be analogous to the Lares and Penates (the household gods), the domestic Silvani and the genii and junos (guardians of individuals) of Roman tradition. As if to confirm this impression, we have an inscription from Gallia Belgica that expressly invokes the ‘Suleviæ Junones’:CIL xiii: 3561. Conceivably the conjunction et might be intended but omitted here. at least one worshipper therefore identified the one with the other. Still, unlike the junos of the classical tradition, the Suleviæ are not restricted to looking after women alone; among the dedicants to ‘their Suleviæ’ we find individual males, a mixed group, and so on.

The Suleviæ’s association with the Mother-Goddesses is a close one. As we’ve already seen, the Equites Singulares Augusti invoke the Suleviæ immediately after the Mothers; what’s more, two inscriptions from Germania Inferior invoke the Mothers and Suleviæ together,AE 2010, 1003; CIL xiii: 1328. while in Colchester, a citizen of the Cantiaci calls simply on the ‘Mother Suleviæ’.RIB 1, 192. Again, this might simply involve the omission of a conjunction. If the Lares are the sons of Mercury and LaraP. Ovidivs Naso, Fasti ii: 599–616.—and thus theoretically brothers—the Suleviæ for their part are sisters, if we may trust the soldier in Germania Superior who made a dedication Suleuis sororibus ‘to the sister Suleviæ’.CIL xiii: 11740.

Other inscriptions suggest that some Suleviæ may have their home in the mountains: a Roman citizen in Dacia thus invokes the Sul(euis) mont(anis) ‘montane Suleviæ’CIL iii: 1601.—this is also a possible reading for another inscription in Gallia Narbonensis.CIL xii: 1181. But the Suleviæ were also associated with the Campestres or ‘gods of the field’, at least by soldiers in Rome,As we’ve seen, the ‘pantheistic’ monuments of the Equites Singulares include the Campestres as well as the Suleviæ. The link is closer still in an offering by a legionary centurion who invokes (exclusively) the Suleviæ and Campestres (CIL vi: 768). for whom the field in question may be specifically the Campus Martius.

An altar at Collias invokes Sulevia with Minerva, which might indicate some link between the Suleviæ and Minerva (at least for this anonymous dedicant).CIL xii: 2974. The fragmentary text reads: ...] Svleviae Edennicae Minervae votvm. It thus refers to Edennica, who is either a goddess unknown elsewhere, or an epithet of Sulevia. If other deities were invoked on the same stone ahead of Sulevia, their names have not survived.

The Suleviæ tended to be given relatively simple altars, with some basic vegetal or geometric embellishment but little other adornment. I am not aware of any depictions of them. Worshippers of the Suleviæ in Antiquity include high-ranking officers, common soldiers, private citizens, peregrines (non-citizens), a freedman, and a smattering of women. This is a diverse assortment in which military men are particularly well attested (though this may be due to soldiers’ being generally more imbued with the habit of inscribing on stone).

There is, of course, no official public festival of the Suleviæ. Still, two privately dedicated altars at Rome preserve the dates of their dedication, and as private persons we may follow their precedent. One of these was dedicated to the Suleviæ and Campestres on 24 August 160 ce.This is the 9th day before the Kalends of September in the consulship of Bradua and Varus. CIL vi: 768. The other is less straightforward, since the name of the month has disappeared apart from the final two letters. These letters, however, are enough to rule of five of the months of the year; other months are impossible because the gap is too small. The likeliest date is 19 April 207.CIL vi: 31161. The inscription states that the monument was dedi(catum) XIII K[al(endas) ...]as Apro et Maximo co(n)s(ulibus) ‘dedicated 13 days before the Kalends of [...] in the consulship of Aper and Maximus’. Three letters are thought to be missing between the L of K[AL] and the final AS of the month. The only month that would permit exactly three letters to be inserted here is May (MAIAS). However, M is a wide letter, and we can scarcely rule out June (IVNIAS) or July (IVLIAS), particularly if the stonemason used ligatures in these words. This monument was dedicated pro sal(ute) Impp(eratorum nn(ostrorum) Augg(ustorum) Matribus paternis et maternis meisque Suleuis “for the well-being of our august Emperors, to the paternal and maternal Mothers, and to my own Suleviæ”. Such phraseology is unusual for several reasons—if nothing else, it shows that the humble Suleviæ can take an interest in great matters of state.

Overall, the picture of the Suleviæ that emerges is of guardian spirits who govern the destinies of households and individuals. Their character is beneficent and intimate, even motherly.


Notes

Français (Victor Hugo)
En français svp !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · POST · R · C · AN · MMDCCLXVIII · V · S · L · M

SVLEVIIS : aux SULÉVIES

Les Sulévies sont des déesses modestes ; elles sont pourtant très caractéristiques de la religion celtique (voire germano-celtique ?). Leur nom est à interpréter comme « bonnes dirigeantes » ou « bonnes guides »Xavier Delamarre (2003). Dictionnaire de la langue gauloise. Errance, p. 286. ; il s’agit d’un composé du préfixe su- « bon(ne) »Le préfixe su- du gaulois correspond au eu- du grec — les deux veulent dire « bon » ou « bien » (et donc par exemple le nom grec Εὐγένιος ou Eugène signifie « bien-né »). On trouve le même préfixe gaulois chez Sucellus, le « bon frappeur ». et la racine leuia, apparentée par exemple au mot gallois llywydd « leader ».Nicole Jufer & Thierry Luginbühl (2001), Les dieux gaulois : répertoire des noms de divinités celtiques connus par l'épigraphie, les textes antiques et la toponymie. Errance, pp. 15, 64. On a trouvé une quarantaine d’inscriptions votives en leur honneurVoici la liste (format texte), tirée de l’Epigraphik Datenbank Clauss-Slaby (10 janvier 2015). à travers une zone qui s’étend de la Grande-Bretagne jusqu’en Pannonie. Les dédicaces sont concentrées en Germanie-Supérieure (la Bade, le Palatinat, l’Alsace et surtout la Suisse actuels). On les invoque le plus souvent au pluriel (Sule(u)iis voire Suleuiabus, 41 inscriptions), mais il existe des invocations au singulier (Suleuiae, 3 inscriptions).

Les adorateurs les plus notables des Sulévies, ce sont les Equites singulares Augusti (“cavaliers particuliers de l’empereur”), beaucoup desquels sont originaires des provinces celtiques romanisées.Le régiment participe assidument à d’autres cultes qui peuvent nous intéresser, comme ceux d’Epona et de Jupiter Optimus Maximus Dolichenus. Cette unité de cavalerie d’élite a laissé à Rome 13 monuments inscrits qui font mention des Sulévies. Cela se fait le plus souvent dans le contexte d’une invocation de toute une série de divinités dont on reconnaît la plupart comme les plus importantes de la Gaule romaine : Iovi Optimo Maximo Ivnoni Minervae Marti Victoriae Hercvli Fortvnae Mercvrio Felicitati Salvti Fatis Campestribvs Silvano Apollini Dianae Eponae Matribvs Svlevis et genio singvlarivm Avg ceterisq dis immortalibvs, « à Jupiter Très-Bon, Très Grand, à Junon, à Minerve [divinités de la Triade capitoline], à Mars, à Victoire, à Hercule, à Fortune, à Mercure, à Félicité, à Salus, aux Parques, aux dieux du Champ, à Silvain, à Apollon, à Diane, à Epona, aux déesses-Mères, aux Sulévies et au génie des Equites singulares Augusti aussi bien qu’aux autres dieux immortels ».Ces divinités sont présentes dans presque le même ordre sur neuf monuments : Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL) vi: 31140, 31141, 31142 31145, 31146, 31148, 31149, 31174 et 31175. Une de ces inscriptions omet Hercule et Fortune (CIL vi: 31141), une autre n’omet qu’Hercule (CIL vi: 31142), encore une autre omet Fortune (CIL vi: 31174), tandis que l’une invoque les Parques avant Salus (CIL vi: 31148). Les autres variations ne concernent que l’orthographie. Voilà évidemment un « panthéon » canonique des Equites singulares. Une autre liste en diffère sensiblement (CIL vi: 31171) ; il s’agit d’un inscription laissée non par le régiment mais par un vétéran particulier. Je trouve aussi trois inscriptions de ce genre avec des listes plus courtes où les Sulévies ne figurent pas (CIL vi: 31138, 31143 et 31143). La position des Sulévies sur les monuments de ce genre n’est pas triviale. On commence par la Triade capitoline, garants divins de l’État romain, pour procéder aux divinités de la prouesse militaire, de la prospérité et du salut, donc sensiblement par ordre d’importance décroissante du point de vu d’une unité militaire chargée de la protection de l’Empire dans la personne du prince. On passe par là aux divinités qui président aux champs, des bois, des sourcesLes Equites singulares situent Apollon parmi Silvain et Diane ; ils pensent probablement à sa fonction comme détenteur de sources chaudes et thérapeutiques plutôt qu’à ses fonctions comme archer, musicien, chef des Muses, etc. Les Campestres sont peut-être les dieux du terrain de dressage sinon du champ de bataille. Silvain protège et les fermes et les bocages ; Diane est chez elle dans les bois sauvages et les montagnes. et des chevaux — éléments du monde naturel importants pour les cavaliers — pour arriver enfin chez les humbles déesses-Mères, nos Sulévies, le génie du régiment et la formule résiduelle. Donc, pour les Equites singulares, les Sulévies semblent appartenir au rang des semones, des génies ou des nymphes plutôt que des dieux olympiens plus élevés.

L’impression que les Sulévies ressemblent davantage aux génies et aux junons qu’aux dieux célestes se renforce par d’autres évidences. Les Helvètes entre autres font des offrandes à « leurs Sule(u)iae », comme si tout le monde en a la sienne.Les Helvètes omettent souvent le V de Suleiae. CIL vi: 31161 (Rome, cavalier des Equites singulares), CIL xiii: 5027 (Lausanne), CIL xiii: 11499 (Soleure), Année Épigraphique (AE) 1939: 211 (Lausanne). À Cologne, trois hommes invoquent « leurs Sulévies domestiques ».CIL xiii: 12056. Donc, ces Sulévies-ci dirigent la bonne conduite des affaires domestiques ; on infère que chaque foyer ou chaque personne en est doté d’une (au moins). Voilà un analogue des lares et pénates (patrons de la maison), des silvains domestiques et des génies et junons (patrons des particuliers) de la religion romaine. Pour confirmer cette impression, nous avons une inscription belge qui invoque précisément les « Sulévies junons »CIL xiii: 3561. C’est possible qu’il faille entendre une conjonction et omise. ; il a donc convenu à un adorateur du moins d’identifier les unes aux autres. Au contraire des junons de la tradition classique, cependant, les Sulévies ne sont pas limitées à la seule protection des femmes : on trouve parmi les dédiants à « leurs Suleiae » des hommes particuliers, un groupe mixte, etc.

L’association des Sulévies avec les Mères est très proche. Comme nous venons de signaler, les Equites singulares Augusti invoquent les Sulévies immédiatement après les Mères ; en plus, deux inscriptions de Germanie-Inférieure invoquent les Mères et les Sulévies ensemble,AE 2010, 1003; CIL xiii: 1328. tandis qu’un citoyen cantiaque (Kent) à Colchester appellent tout simplement les « Mères Sulévies ».RIB 1, 192. Ici encore, il pourrait s’agir d’une simple omission de la conjonction. Si les Lares sont les fils de Mercure et LaraP. Ovidivs Naso, Fasti ii: 599–616. — et donc théoriquement frères — les Sulévies sont sœurs, à en croire le soldat en Germanie-Supérieure qui fait une dédicace Suleuis sororibus « aux sœurs Sulévies ».CIL xiii: 11740.

D’autres inscriptions suggèrent que la demeure de certaines Sulévies se trouve dans les montagnes ; ainsi un citoyen romain en Dacie invoque-t-il les Sul(euis) mont(anis) “Sulévies montagnardes”CIL iii: 1601. — une lecture possible aussi pour une inscription de Gaule narbonnaise.CIL xii: 1181. Mais on associait les Sulévies également avec les dieux des champs (Campestres), du moins chez les soldats à Rome,Comme on l’a vu, les monuments « panthéistes » des Equites singulares font inclusion des Campestres aussi bien que des Sulévies. L’association est plus étroite dans une dédicace d’un centurion légionnaire qui n’invoque que les Sulévies et les dieux des champs (CIL vi: 768). où il peut s’agir spécifiquement des dieux du Champ de Mars.

Un autel de Collias invoque Sulévie avec Minerve, ce qui pourrait indiquer quelque lien entre les Sulévies et Minerve (du moins pour ce dédiant anonyme...).CIL xii: 2974. Le texte (fragmentaire) se lit ainsi : ...] Svleviae Edennicae Minervae votvm. Il fait donc référence à Edennica, qui est soit une déesse autrement inconnue, soit un épithète de Sulévie. On ne sait pas si d’autres divinités sont invoquées ici aussi.

On avait tendance de ne dédier aux Sulévies que des autels relativement simples, embellis de quelques motifs végétaux ou géométriques mais peu d’autres ornements. Je ne connais aucune représentation de ces déesses. Les adorateurs des Sulévies dans l’Antiquité comprennent de hauts officiers, des soldats, des citoyens privés, des pérégrins, un affranchi, et un certain nombre de femmes. C’est un rassemblement divers où l’élément militaire est notable (mais cela peut être dû à l’habitude épigraphique répandue chez les soldats).

Il n’y a évidemment pas de fête officielle des Sulévies. Cependant, deux autels privés à Rome indiquent la date de leurs dédications, et nous-autres en tant que privés pouvons suivre leur précédents. L’un est dédié aux Sulévies et aux Campestres le 24 août an 160.C.-à-d. le 9e jour avant les kalendes de septembre du consulat de Bradua et Varus. CIL vi: 768. L’interprétation de l’autre est plus délicate, car il ne reste du nom du mois que les deux dernières lettres. Elles suffisent cependant pour exclure cinq des mois de l’année ; il faut en écarter d’autres en raison de l’étroitesse de la lacune. Il s’agit le plus probablement du 19 avril an 207.CIL vi: 31161. L’inscription précise que le monument est dedi(catum) XIII K[al(endas) ...]as Apro et Maximo co(n)s(ulibus) “dédié 13 jours avants les kalendes du mois de [...] pendant le consulat d’Aper et Maximus”. Trois lettres manquent entre le L de K[AL] et le AS final du mois. Le seul mois qui y permet l’insertion de trois letters exactement, c’est MAIAS (mai). Pourtant, le M est large, et on ne pourrait exclure ni IVNIAS (juin) ni IVLIAS (juillet), surtout si le mot s’écrit avec des ligatures. Ce monument est dédié pro sal(ute) Impp(eratorum nn(ostrorum) Augg(ustorum) Matribus paternis et maternis meisque Suleuis “pour le salut de nos augustes empereurs, aux Mères paternelles et maternelles et à mes propres Sulévies”. La phraséologie est singulière pour plusieurs raisons — elle indique au minimum que les humbles Sulévies peuvent s’intéresser aux grandes questions d’État.

Somme toute, les Sulévies se révèlent comme esprits protecteurs qui gouvernent le destin des foyers et des particuliers. Leur caractère est bénéfique, intime, même maternel.


Notes

English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
DEO · MERCVRIO · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · POST · R · C · AN · MMDCCLXVIII · V · S · L · M