Vénus d'Arles
Colourized image of the Venus of Arles, one of the most famous depictions of Venus ever discovered in Gaul.This image is based on an early plaster copy in the Musée de l’Arles Antique. This copy is actually more faithful to the original appeareance than the infelicitously restored statue in the Louvre.
(Musée de l’Arles Antique)
Vénus de Pourrières
Sculpture of Venus with a dolphin, indicating her maritime affinities. Note the voluptuous suppleness of the figure. This is probably a Gallo-Roman work, found at Pourrières in the département of the Var.
(Musée Lapidaire d’Avignon)

Venus received a warm welcome among the Gauls. To be sure, she never attained the rank of the most vaunted gods in Gaul, and she does not seem to have had a Celtic precursor (at least, we find no Celtic epithets attributed to her). Under the Roman Empire, however, she was everywhere. She frequently appeared on Jupiter columns; inscriptions honoured her quite frequently; her image became a favourite motif in the homes of the leisured class. On the other hand, her representations in terracotta or other inexpensive materials are what show her to have been one of the most popular deities in Gaul. Humble though her worshippers might be, they sought all the more ardently after the indespendable aid of the goddess.

Venus’ essential function is to preside over love—including phyiscal attraction, sexuality and even adulterous affairs. Herein lies the chief point of contention between Venus and Juno, protector of the inviolable institution of marriage who appears moreover as Venus’ constant antagonist in the Æneid, Iliad and other texts. Venus’ entourage naturally includes Cupid, her son and assistant, but also Priapus (the ithyphallic god who governs virility) and at times Mars. Today, as in ancient times, sexuality tends to be identified with the image of woman as object of sexual desire; so it is that Venus representes, first and foremost, the charms, the beauty and the allure of the female sex.

Venus is ordinarily represented nude (an artistic innovation introduced by Praxiteles, but quite established by the time of the Gallic Wars). Among her attributes are a mirror, the Apple of Discord (which Venus was awarded by Paris, indirectly provoking the Trojan War), the girdle, the dove, the swan, the hare and the myrtle. Born at Cytherea from the sea, which (according to one version of the myth) had been inseminated by the sea-foam issuing from the severed phallus of Uranus, she frequently appears with sea-shells and marine creatures such as dolphins.

At Rome, feast days in honour of Venus include the 18 August (Vinalia Rustica, inauguration date of the oldest temple of Venus in Rome), the 1 April (Veneralia) and the 23 April (feast of Venus of Eryx).

Love Affairs of the Goddess of Love

Venus inherited the same amorous temperament as her father Jupiter, if the poets are to be believed. As early as the 7th century BCE, the Hymns called Homeric (thanks to their style and meter) dedicate a long section to the amour of Venus and Anchises, from which Æneas was born.

Still, the most famous lovers of Venus are Mars and Adonis. In both cases, the poet who gives them the best literary treatment is Ovid. In one comic episode, Vulcan booby-traps his wife Venus’ bed; when Mars and Venus are caught in it, the smith-god invites the Olympians to come laugh at the spectacle.P. Ovidivs Naso, Metamorphoseon iv. The myth of Adonis is more serious. The lover is mortal; as Ovid tells the story, he dies while boar-hunting. Venus, beside herself with grief, transforms him into an anemone and institutes a commemoration which women observed each year by keening from the roof-tops.P. Ovidivs Naso, Metamorphoseon x.

Venus’ husband, however, is Vulcan. Ugly and lame, he is nevertheless secure, capable and masculine. The poets indicate that, despite one spouse’s infidelities and the other’s jealousies, the couple were able all in all to forge an agreeable modus vivendi.

Bronze de Cupidon
Bronze statuette of a winged Cupid, found at Lyon.
(Musée de la Civilisation Gallo-Romaine, Lyon)
Cupidon et Psyché
A charming terracotta statuette of Cupid and Psyche from Cologne, found at Tongres in the Belgian province of Limburg.
(Gallo-Romeins Museum, Tongeren)


Horace calls Venus the mater cupidinum, mother of desires or love affairs,Q. Horativs Flaccvs, Carmina i: 19. and for this reason the god Amor (Cupid) is considered the son of Venus. His paternity (appropriately enough!) is disputed. He is normally winged—at least from the time of Apuleius—and bears the arrows that make gods and mortals fall in love. He is depicted as either a child or an adult. The former motif carries on in the cupids and cherubs of modern art. The latter is chiefly found in connection with the lovely myth of Cupid and Pysche, retold by Apuleius,L. Apvleivs Madavrensis, Asinus aureus siue Metamorphoses iv.28–vi.25. which symbolizes the good and ill effects of Love upon the Soul (known in Greek as Ψυχή or psyche). Both motifs were as popular in Antiquity as they are in modern times (one need only mention the sublime works of Canova, Rodin, Bouguereau and others on this theme).

The Graces

Three other goddesses in Venus’ entourage are the Graces: Euphrosyne (joy), Thalia (plenty) and Aglaë (splendour). As a trio (and from the time of Hesiod, they have hardly ever been conceived otherwise), they represent vivacity—a full and joyful life. In Gaul, they do not seem to have been objects of worship, but they do appear on mosaics and other decorative elements (much as paintings and sculptures of the Three Graces have had a certain vogue since the Renaissance).


Vénus de Praxitèle
Bust of Venus found at Cologne: Roman copy of a work by Praxiteles.
(Römisch-Germanisches Museum, Cologne)
Vénus drapée
Terracotta statuette of a clothed Venus.
(Musée Saint-Remi, Reims)
Vénus (colonne de Jupiter)
Relief of Venus with a mirror on a Jupiter column.
(Römisch-Germanisches Museum, Cologne)
Vénus dans une édicule
Nude Venus emerging from the sea. This was a terracotta plaque that one might hang up in a domestic shrine. This type of production is a typical indicator of the cult of Venus among common people.
(Musée Roulin, Autun)
Vénus en terre cuite
Terracotta statuete of Venus.
(Musée de la Civilisation Gallo-Romaine, Lyon)
Vénus (bronze)
Bronze statue of Venus with the Apple of Discord.
(Römisch-Germanisches Museum, Cologne)

Venus Genitrix

Venus had a particular significance for the Julio-Claudian house, for the gens Julia claimed descent from Iulus, which is to say Ascanius, son of Æneas. Now, Æneas was the son of Venus and the mortal Anchises. While Julius Cæsar enjoyed political supremacy, the dictator promoted the worship of Venus Genitrix, that is, Venus the progenitor of the Roman people—and more directly of his own lineage. The mythology of Æneas as forefather of the Romans—already widely accepted—was immortalized in Virgil’s Æneid, composed during the principate of Augustus.

Venus Genitrix is one of the goddess’s victory-bearing manifestations, much like Venus Victrix (Victorious Venus) favoured by Pompey (this was a Latinization of Aphrodite Nicephora), the Venus Felix (the Fortunate Venus) worshipped by Sulla, and the Venus Erycina (Venus of Eryx) credited with victory against the Carthaginians in 215 BCE. The role of Venus could thus extend, in extreme cases, to the military protection of the commonwealth whose foundations she had laid through her illustrious son Æneas.

The Heavenly Venus

Philosophers favoured rather the ‘Heavenly Venus’ (Aphrodite Urania), who presides over spiritual love.

Statue profanée par des Chrétiens
Mediæval fanaticism, rather than weathering, has reduced this objet d’art and cult statue into an amorphous block.
(Rheinisches Landesmuseum, Trier)

A Case of Christian Ritual Sacrilege

A sculpture of Venus at Trier, in the monastery of Saint Matthias, received ongoing ritual attention during the Middle Ages. Each year during Holy Week, the crowd would gather to hurl stones at the offending ‘idol’. Might the cult of Venus—feminine, sexualized, worldly—have in some wise been recognized as a potent antithesis of Christianity? The physical effects of this practice, at any rate, are plain. A marble statue of the Venus Anadyomene type (that is, Venus drying her hair as she rises out of the sea) was reduced back into crude and shapeless stone.Eberhard Sauer (1996), The end of paganism in the north-western provinces of the Roman Empire, p. 92. May we not take this as a fitting symbol of the cultures of paganism and Christianity, and their respective fruits?


Français (Victor Hugo)
En français svp !
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License

VENERI : à VÉNUS

Vénus d'Arles
Image colorisée de la Vénus d’Arles, une représentation de Vénus des plus célèbres jamais trouvées en Gaule.Notre image est basée sur la copie de la statue en plâtre au Musée de l’Arles antique. Cette copie est en fait plus fidèle à l’aspect originel que la statue conservée au Louvre (victime d’une restauration audace).
(Musée de l’Arles antique)
Vénus de Pourrières
Sculpture de Vénus au dauphin, signalant ses affinités maritimes. Remarquer la souplesse voluptueuse de la figure. Il s’agirait d’une œuvre gallo-romaine trouvée à Pourrières dans le Var.
(Musée lapidaire d’Avignon)

Vénus a reçu un chaleureux accueil chez les Gaulois. Certes, elle n’a jamais atteint le rang des dieux les plus vantés en Gaule, et elle ne semble pas avoir eu de précurseur celtique (du moins, on ne trouve point d’épithète celtique qui lui est attribué). Sous l’Empire romain, pourtant, elle devient omniprésente. Elle apparaît souvent sur les colonnes de Jupiter ; on l’honore assez fréquemment sur les inscriptions ; son image est un motif favori chez les gens aisés. Ce sont cependant ses figurations en terre cuite ou d’autres matériaux peu coûteux qui l’établissent comme l’une des déités les plus populaires de la Gaule. Tous humbles que fussent ses adorateurs, ils recherchaient d’autant plus ardemment l’intervention indispensable de la déesse.

La fonction essentielle de Vénus est évidemment de présider sur l’amour — y compris l’attraction physique, la sexualité et même les adultères. Voilà le point principal de divergence entre Vénus et Junon, protectrice de l’institution inviolable du mariage ; Junon agit d’ailleurs comme l’antagoniste constante de Vénus dans l’Énéide, l’Iliade et d’autres textes. L’entourage de Vénus comprend bien sûr Cupidon, son fils et lieutenant, mais également Priape (dieu ithyphallique qui préside sur la fonction sexuelle masculine) et parfois Mars. Aujourd’hui comme dans l’Antiquité, on a tendance d’identifier la sexualité à la femme en tant qu’objet de désir ; c’est ainsi que Vénus représente surtout et avant tout les charmes, la beauté, l’allure de la femme.

Dans les représentations de Vénus, la déesse est d’ordinaire nue (une innovation artistique introduite par Praxitèle, mais devenue normale avant la conquête des Gaules). Les attributs de Vénus comprennent un miroir, la pomme de la discorde (laquelle Vénus a gagnée de Pâris, provoquant indirectement la Guerre de Troie), la ceinture, la colombe, le cygne, le lièvre et le myrte. Née à Cythère de la mer fécondée de l’écume issue du membre d’Uranus (selon une version du mythe), elle apparaît fréquemment parmi des coquilles et des créatures marines comme le dauphin.

À Rome, on observe plusieurs dates de fête en l’honneur de Vénus. Parmi elles sont le 18 août (Vinalia rustica, date d’inauguration du plus vieux temple de Vénus dans Rome), le 1er avril (Veneralia) et le 23 avril (fête de Vénus Érycine).

Les amours de la déesse d’amour

Vénus aurait hérité le même tempérament amoureux que son père Jupiter, à en croire les poètes. Les Hymnes dits homériques (en raison de leurs style et mètre) consacrent dès le VIIe siècle avant notre ère une longue section à l’amour de Vénus et Anchise dont le fruit est l’illustre Énée.

Les amants de Vénus les plus célèbres, cependant, sont Mars et Adonis. Dans les deux cas, le poète qui en traite le mieux est Ovide. Dans une épisode comique, Vulcain laisse un piège dans le lit de Vénus ; quand Mars et Vénus y sont pris, le dieu-forgeron invite les Olympiens à assister au spectacle.P. Ovidivs Naso, Metamorphoseon iv. Le mythe d’Adonis est plus sérieux. L’amant est mortel ; il meurt à la chasse d’un sanglier, selon Ovide. Vénus, accablée de douleurs, le transforme en anémone et institue un rite de commémoration que les femmes allaient observer en lançant chaque année des lamentations des toits.P. Ovidivs Naso, Metamorphoseon x.

Mais l’époux de Vénus, c’est Vulcain. Laid et boiteux, ce dernier est néanmoins sûr, capable et viril. Les poètes indiquent que, malgré des infidélités de l’une épouse et des jalousies de l’autre, le couple s’accorde somme toute dans un modus vivendi agréable.

Bronze de Cupidon
Statuette en bronze de Cupidon ailé, découverte à Lyon.
(Musée de la civilisation gallo-romaine, Lyon)
Cupidon et Psyché
Charmante statuette de Cupidon et Psyché en terre cuite de Cologne, découverte à Tongres (Limbourg).
(Gallo-Romeins Museum, Tongres)

Cupidon

Horace qualifie Vénus de mater cupidinum, mère des desirs ou des amours,Q. Horativs Flaccvs, Carmina i: 19. et c’est ainsi que l’on considère le dieu Amour (Cupidon) comme le fils de Vénus. Comme c’est naturel, on discute qui en est le père... Il est normalement ailé — du moins depuis l’œuvre d’Apulée — et porte les flèches qui rendent amoureux les dieux et les mortels. On le représente soit comme enfant, soit comme adulte. Le premier motif est repris par les cupidons et les chérubins de l’art moderne. Le dernier implique surtout le jolie mythe d’Amour et Psyché que l’on retrouve chez Apulée,L. Apvleivs Madavrensis, Asinus aureus siue Metamorphoses iv.28–vi.25. lequel symbolise les effets (heureux et autres) de l’amour sur l’âme (Ψυχή, psychè en grec). Les deux motifs sont aussi populaires dans l’Antiquité que de nos jours (rappelons les œuvres sublimes de Canova, de Rodin, de Bouguereau sur ce thème...).

Les Grâces

Trois autres déesses de l’entourage de Vénus sont les Grâces : Euphrosyne (l’allégresse), Thalie (la plénitude) et Aglaé (la beauté splendide). En tant que trio (et depuis Hésiode on n’en conçoit guère autrement), elles représentent la vivacité, la vie joyeuse et pleine. En Gaule, elles ne semblent pas avoir reçu de culte, mais elles peuvent figurer sur les mosaïques et d’autres éléments décoratifs (tout comme les peintures et les sculptures des Trois Grâces qui ont connu une certaine vogue depuis la Renaissance).


Gallerie

Vénus de Praxitèle
Buste de Vénus trouvé à Cologne, une copie romaine d’une œuvre de Praxitèle.
(Römisch-Germanisches Museum, Cologne)
Vénus drapée
Statuette en terre cuite d’une Vénus drapée.
(Musée Saint-Remi, Reims)
Vénus (colonne de Jupiter)
Relief de Vénus au miroir sur une colonne de Jupiter.
(Römisch-Germanisches Museum, Cologne)
Vénus dans une édicule
Vénus nue, sortant de la mer. Il s’agit ici d’une plaque en terre cuite qu’on pourrait afficher dans un petit sanctuaire domestique. Les productions de ce genre sont les indicateurs typiques du culte de Vénus en milieux populaires.
(Musée Roulin, Autun)
Vénus en terre cuite
Statuette en terre cuite de Vénus.
(Musée de la civilisation gallo-romaine, Lyon)
Vénus (bronze)
Bronze de Vénus à la pomme de la discorde.
(Römisch-Germanisches Museum, Cologne)

Vénus la génitrice

Vénus avait une importance particulière pour la maison julio-claudienne, car la gens julienne constatait leur descendance d’Iulus, soit Ascagne, le fils d’Énée. Or, Énée est le fils de Vénus et le mortel Anchise. Lors de la suprématie politique de Jules César, le dictateur a promu l’adoration de Vénus la génitrice du peuple romain — et plus directement de sa propre lignée. La mythologie d’Énée comme ancêtre des Romains — déjà bien connue — a été immortalisée par l’Énéide de Virgile, composée durant le principat d’Auguste.

Vénus la Génitrice figure parmi les manifestations d’une Vénus qui apporte la victoire, tout comme la Venus uictrix favorisée de Pompée (une latinisation de l’Aphrodite Nicéphore), la Venus felix adorée par Sylla, et la Venus erycina à qui on attribuait la victoire contre les Carthaginois en –215. Voici donc une Vénus dont la fonction militaire s’étend à la protection in extrémis de la chose publique (dont elle a fait poser les fondements par son illustre fils Énée...).

La Vénus céleste

Les philosophes favorisaient plutôt la « Vénus céleste » (Aphrodite Urania), qui préside à l’amour spirituel.

Statue profanée par des Chrétiens
Le fanatisme médiéval, plutôt que le temps, a réduit cet objet d’art et de culte en bloc informe.
(Rheinisches Landesmuseum, Trèves)

Sacrilège rituel chrétien

Une sculpture de Vénus à Trèves (monastère de Saint-Matthias) a reçu au Moyen-Âge une attention rituelle continue. Chaque année pendant la Sainte-Semaine, la foule s’assemblaient pour lancer des pierres contre « l’idole » provoquant. Est-ce qu’on reconnaissait en quelque sorte le culte de Vénus — féminin, sexualisé, mondain — comme une antithèse puissante du christianisme ? Les effets physiques de cette pratique sont de toute façon clairs. Une statue en marbre de type Vénus anadyomène (une Venus s’asséchant les cheveux en sortant de la mer) s’est réduite en pierre brute et amorphe.Eberhard Sauer (1996), The end of paganism in the north-western provinces of the Roman Empire, p. 92. Un symbole convenable des fruits de la culture à la païenne, puis à la chrétienne ?


Notes


English (Shakespeare)
English please!
Deutsch (Goethe)
Auf deutsch, bitte!
Creative Commons License
VENERI · CETERISQ · DIIS · DEABVSQ · IMMORTALIBVS · VIDVCVS · BRIGANTICI · F · POST · R · C · AN · MMDCCLXV · V · S · L · M